First world problems in One day at a time

  • Aug. 13, 2015, 12:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am on about day 30 of a vicious head cold. I had 2 and ½ days off work at height of it – the ½ comes from when I dragged myself in and my terrified co-workers practically locked themselves in the break room and held up signs insisting I took my snotty self from their presence. I only went to work because I get the grand total of 5 days sick leave a year, and well, I wanted to save a couple for when I wasn’t feeling quite so icky… Anyway I still have a cough that sounds like I have a 20 a day Marlboro habit and a drippy nose. The main impact it is having on me now is just a general feeling of can’t be arsedness – but then again nobody seems to have noticed, so possibly that is my usual demeanour.

So this is going to come firmly under the heading first world problems. I was lucky enough to win two tickets to Singapore via an airline selling competition. I won them fair and square (from tickets that I sold to a client that followed me from my last job), and yes there was a bit of unpleasantness whilst my two greedy bosses tried to take credit. Anyway once they had reluctantly agreed that the tickets would be mine the real fun started. Who to take, who to take. I’m not kidding, I agonised over it. Danni, who was so amazing to me after Mic died? Terri who I normally travel with? Richard who would be so much fun to travel with or Janey. After a sleepless night (y’all know how I desperately want everyone to like me all the time) I decided to offer them first to Janey. She is the one who has had an awesome ride this year with competitions and has been so generous to me. Opera, ballet, wine festival, rock concerts, and countless movies. I seriously wouldn’t have had a social life without her. In the back of my mind I was also thinking she probably wouldn’t be able to come, She has a 9 year old daughter and a fairly incompetent husband (who does reluctantly “babysit” when we go to one of the things I listed – wtf, can it seriously be called babysitting when it is your own child??) Well bugger me, he said go for it. So off we shall go. I have broken the news to the other’s, and they all said, hey we have had a pretty good time with freebies via your work over the years, no bitterness at all. Yay.

I am toying with the idea of adding some money to my mortgage and fixing my house up. Now that I have a dream neighbour I no longer hate it, and I just know I would love it a whole lot more if it didn’t have orange carpet and pretend wood kitchen cupboards. I know I run the risk of over capitalising (I paid too much money for it in the first place, but it was in the zombie months – just after Mic died), but I’m thinking life is too short to live in somewhere that makes me grit my teeth constantly. Having said that I know it is going to be a nightmare. I decided to start with attempting to get my shower relined (it is damaged and moulding). Two weeks, two plumbers, no call backs. Grrrr


Ceylon Sapphire August 14, 2015

Singapore!!! How freaking cool! Do the house stuff...you live there, make it livable.

Ginger Snap December 04, 2015

Hi there! You remind me of me...only with a much more charming accent! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.