Unfair Dismissal in Diary

  • Aug. 10, 2015, 7:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thanks to everyone who suggested that Jay takes his employers to a tribunal. I didn’t think he would get anywhere as they’ve been very sneaky and used all the legal loopholes to go about it. I also didn’t think he would have the energy to bother as well as looking for a new job, but I mentioned it to him anyway as he’s still fired up on anger and he’s found this on the CAB website:

Unfair dismissal
Your employer might claim that you’re redundant, when in fact they have unfairly dismissed you. This may be so they don’t have to pay you compensation for unfair dismissal. You should look carefully at the circumstances surrounding your dismissal to make sure that you are really being made redundant.
The following situations are examples of where the real reason for your dismissal might not be redundancy:
1) your employer has recently taken on other people. This could mean that there has not been a reduction in the amount of work to be done
2) you’re the only person being made redundant, or one of only a few in a large company. This might be a sign that the type of work you do is still needed

(From his email to me) Point 1 – John has recently been employed part time in the sales office and Lee is moving from a part time to full time member of the sales office.
Point 2 – The type of work I do is still needed as I don’t just do marketing I also do sales admin.



My addition to point 2 - They claim the reason for redundancy is that they think marketing should be a part time role. If he is already only doing it part time, and the NEW person will also be doing it part time, then there has been no reduction in the time being spent on marketing. Their argument is defunct.

This is exactly what we’re looking for and fits his situation perfectly, so he’s going to contact them. Eeeeexcellent /Mr. Burns


Waterfire August 10, 2015

GOOD. I hope the fuckers get what's coming to them! Poor Jay.

Tuesday's Child August 10, 2015

Poor Jay. I hope he takes them. James was dismissed unfairly a few years ago, and like you say above, the energy involved in going through with it was too much for him when he was already depressed. He called EHO on their kitchen instead, mwahahaha.

Lucretia August 10, 2015

Good! That's how I got the bastards that screwed me over. Fight them, fight fight fight!

Babe In Toyland August 10, 2015

Oh good. I hope his manager gets fired over this.

Canadian Lass August 10, 2015

DOO ITTT!!!!!!!!

history of love August 11, 2015

Hope he does it. People can't get away with this sort of crap.

mutedexposure August 11, 2015

I hope they go down in flames!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.