Cigna in Pregnancy

  • Aug. 5, 2015, 11:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Woke up really late this morning. Tim and I had every intention of getting up early to do the grocery shopping, but when the alarm went off at 8:30 there was no way in hell either of us were getting out of bed. We didn’t sleep well (mostly my fault because I was getting up to pee every hour) and the cats wanted to snuggle all night which didn’t leave much wiggle room for us. At one point, Padfoot literally pushed Tims head out of the way so that he could snuggle closer to me. Tim woke up with a tail in his mouth and his head no longer on the pillow. It was funny, but not exactly conducive to a good night’s sleep.

So the alarm goes off at 8:30, Tim shuts it off, and we sleep until about 10-10:30. We opted out of making breakfast and having cereal instead, and just lazily chatted while enjoying our Honey Nut Cheerios and sipping our coffee. Sometimes, you just need a morning like that.

I called Cigna after eating to get the ball rolling for my FMLA. I’ve been with my company for nearly 4 years now so I was approved for at least 12 weeks of maternity leave, more if I want it. We can only really afford for me to take the 12, but I may push it to 13 or 14 depending on when the baby comes. As of right now, my last day of work is September 28th, which can and will change if Oliver comes early/late. I really want to work up until I go into labor.

The Cigna rep on the phone was the sweetest woman. I called and set up Tim’s leave as well and he’s hopefully getting approved for 4 weeks off. Once the paperwork comes in we have to have our PCP fill out the medical/legal side of things and then Tim has to talk to his manager. I really hope she’s willing to give him that time off… I know I could use him home with me for the first month.

Not much else is going on, really. At my last appointment I was measuring between 31-32 weeks, which is right on track with my original due date, so I’m going from that now. My next appointment will be at 34 weeks, and then at 36, and then weekly after that. I expect he’ll show up before October 1st, but we’ll see. I think it’d be awesome if he was born on the lunar eclipse, (September 27th) but I don’t care when he comes so long as he’s a healthy, happy baby. I just can’t wait to meet him!

That’s all! Have a great day!


lessoff August 05, 2015

YAY For the approved time off.

MooniePie August 05, 2015

Yay time off! I have a year of leave, which starts next Thursday. I can't wait to relax...as you know, being this preggers makes it hard to ANYTHING. Ugh.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.