Summer Camping in My this and that

  • Aug. 5, 2015, 9:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went camping this past weekend with Ben’s sister and her bf, and it was far more enjoyable than I expected. I’m not much for camping. I don’t like being dirty, or cold, and it honestly seemed like a lot of work.

I spent most of Friday in the kitchen preparing food and getting all our things packed up. It was a bit stressful because I suck in the kitchen on a good day, and I was feeding other people on this camping trip.

But once we got there, and we figured out how to set up our tent, it wasn’t so bad. Okay, that first night was rough because our air mattress had a hole, and we only had one sleeping bag to share. I was so cold I dreamed that it snowed.

The day time rocked so much though. It was basically just a whole day of relaxing. I read a whole book (“Poison Study” by Mary V. Snyder - So good!), I did a bit of drawing, I read a couple of mindless magazines. We also did a bit of hiking, and went swimming. It was quite lovely.

I’m still lacking motivation in pretty much all areas of my life. Sometimes I wonder if I may be depressed… but other than wanting to be super lazy and not wanting to do anything at all I feel pretty fine for the most part. I really am just suffering from a case of the lazies… and only I can fix that I guess.


chel_c August 05, 2015

i think everyone or most people go through spurts of laziness and there is nothing wrong with that.
I personally believe you can go through spurts of depression, and being sad for no reason but that doesn't mean you need pills or should be diagnosed as depressed i think its naturally to have spurts of depression.
Sometimes i wonder if depression spurts is just your bodies way of saying ok you need to just relax for a little bit, just take some time for yourself, and its ok to have a couple days or even a week to do that.

Though once that week is up you need to get up and motivate yourself to get back in the game, it might happen naturally and you might have to force yourself back into it.

either way i think what you're feeling is totally normally.

Gurly239 chel_c ⋅ August 06, 2015

I definitely agree on the depression thing. I've never been diagnosed (nor do I feel the need to be) but I definitely go through times when I think I struggle with it. I think we share a very similar view on depression (though I think there ARE some forms caused by a hormone imbalance that does need to be treated).

Thanks for the encouragement. The past two days have actually been better because I've set small goals for myself, and told myself I wasn't allowed to go to bed until I accomplished them. My house is looking cleaner, and I'm getting that sewing done finally for my aunt.

Deleted user August 12, 2015

Yeah I only enjoy camping if I don't have my kids with me! We once burrowed a tent trailer and that was really nice! I struggle with depression and laziness usually in my last half of my cycle.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.