Waving hi! in Life

  • Aug. 4, 2015, 10:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

You know, when I got the laptop I thought I’d write more. I mean it’s in the living room 90% of the time, on the tray by my chair. It’s just usually closed. (And if I don’t stop hitting the touch pad just right and shrinking the screen…I’m going to do bad things. Espcially when I don’t know how to do that on purpose. I’m down to 75% with no clue how I got here. )
I’m getting ready for school, full force right now. My room is mostly finished, until they brought more stuff in there today. One of our former students is working there this summer, helping get the school ready. I told him not to put anything else in my room unless he thought I’d really want it. He just grinned and said he’d seen inside my cabinets....I take everything. Mouthy little brat. :D
We are getting a health unit at our school. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I mean, it’s great, obviously, if it works the way they say. All services will be available to the kids. We’ll have a physician’s asst. who’ll be able to give shots, we’ll have a community outreach person who will get the kids to the dentist if they need (paid for by the clinic , which is funded with a grant), a counselor, etc. But, it will be open to parents/community members, too, and it’s in the old science lab (which I packed and moved all by lonesome, while being entertained by some of the high school drill team - goofy boys spent more time playing with stuff they found). That means right by my room there will suddenly be a lot of people wandering around. I talked to the secretary today and asked about it. I said, at least they’ll be wearing visitor badges, so we’ll know they’re supposed to be here, and she said she didn’t know if they could do that, because of the clinic. (Privacy issues) I don’t know how I feel about having those people wandering around. There’s really nothing stopping them from deciding they want to stop by the room to visit. My principal is really stressed right now. She didn’t want to make us move the lab, but they really weren’t clear with what type of room they’d need. So, we’re in the tiny classroom that the gifted teacher used to be in (she retired and they aren’t homing the new gifted teacher at our school). It’s not a perfect solution, but at least it’s still there.
We had a great, back to school dinner out the other night. About half of the teachers got together at Johnny Carrino’s. (Do y’all have those? Awesome Italian place.) So much laughter. It was awesome! I felt a little guilty, because some of the people around us were obviously distracted by us. :D Oh, and I had an amazing little drink - a pomegranit granita....martini I think. It tasted like a pink sweettart. Yum!! I didn’t get it all, though, because several coworkers wanted to try it. lol I’m good with that. I wasn’t going to go up tomorrow, but I bought some things to get creative with, and I really want to do it, so ....I’ll go. I don’t want to say much, in case it doesn’t work (I’m trying to solve a problem and have something cute in it’s place. We’ll see if I can make it happen, then you’ll get a picture.) I start back to work next Wednesday, but Open House is the Tuesday before that, so I have to be ready. I plan on having my room Open House ready by Thursday.
One last bit of news…Cbaby bought her first real bra today. She wasn’t happy, but Tootie and I have been talking to her about it, that she needed it. (She really does, y’all, she had to get a C cup. ) She’s been just wearing a jogging bra, but we found one that hooked in the front and seemed comfortable to her. So maybe she’ll keep wearing it and realize how much better her shirts fit and look with that.
Oh....and she has a boyfriend. Have I told y’all that?????
[URL=http://media.photobucket.com/user/karma9/media/Funny/tumblr_m47cvlgZDB1r76lino1_250.gif.html][IMG]http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm24/karma9/Funny/tumblr_m47cvlgZDB1r76lino1_250.gif[/IMG][/URL]
She’s only 13. That’s not supposed to happen for quite a while. She says they’re “just friends”. They are on the phone, snap chatting, face timing, chatting through facebook, sharing pictures on Instagram....sigh It’s begun.....I’m not ready. (Not that it really matters if I’m ready. lol) He’s a sweet boy, he’s a member of the tribe, he’s in her grade, and in the band with her. She’s seen him a lot this summer. He better be good to her.


Jigger August 05, 2015

Does your classroom door have a lock on it?

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ August 05, 2015

It does, and I figure they'll make us keep them locked this year. But, it still makes me nervous to think about my kids going to the bathroom (right across the hall from the new clinic), or to the library, etc, and all those people walking the halls. :( (just being paranoid)

terriberri August 05, 2015

i like the idea of the health clinic...could be so helpful to so many. but you are right....it's in an inconvenient place. hope they figure it out as the process goes on...

oh....those first bras. with ja it was so hard, cause she was my last one....my last baby, you know? so bittersweet....my fav word. lol.

not sure how i feel about the boyfriend thing at 13...lol. keep a watch on her.....as i already know you will!

Small Town Girl August 05, 2015

Glad you went out and had fun with your colleagues! Sounds like a nice night! Ugh! I remember when my mom made me start wearing my first bra. Thanksgiving 1995! I'll never forget how much I hated it! But I did soon realize that it was time. CBaby will too!

Deleted user October 11, 2015

We don't have Johnny Carinos :-( I can understand your concerns about the location of the clinic. Cbaby has a boy friend and a bra? OMG ! Time passes too quickly !!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.