P-i-n-k + F-l-o-y-d + a-f-t-e-r-n-o-o-n in My things ……

  • Nov. 28, 2013, 10:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Our dogs have had their hour of agility, it was much warmer than last week, a biter sixty minutes holding the dogs in turn; this week was good. I didn’t take a camera, I can’t hold my Nikon DSLR one handed, I can hold my Canon G10 but it isn’t great with action shots, and the best bits of agility are action; so its only the Nikon will do – if I could manage one handed.

Thursday afternoons are quiet, Ziggy and Lola sleep in a doggy way, deep sleep until a noise, any noise be it quiet or even a very –very ultra quiet whisper; then its up and at it! This Thursday is quiet, Sweetheart is quilting and the dogs are doing sleeping – well. So I am filling this once a week void with Pink Floyd, filling the void with the last of the psychedelic noodling, Echoes from the Meddle album, a time when the Floyd were moving on from the Syd Barratt era; and Dave Gilmore said he’d had enough of psychedelic noodling. The result was ‘Dark Side of the Moon’ and ‘Wish You Were Here’ but I quite like this piece of psychedelic noodling – Echoes.

To my ear it beginning is a half way point between the groups 60’s music and the 70’s high point, a gentile rock intro with vocals after the Sci-fi of the time, there are videos on line bring this track with a part from ‘2001 A Space Odyssey’ As the track progress’s the rock score brakes down into sounds, I imagine to be when Pterodactyl’s were flying over a landscape of dinosaurs; then sounds slowly morph bake to the rock score once more ….

Perhaps before this I should have warned those with a ‘musical sensibility’ to look away now! What ever it was a nice afternoon for me!


NorthernSeeker December 01, 2013

I bought the "Ummagumma" album when I was 15.

NorthernSeeker December 01, 2013

Did you listen to "Careful With That Axe, Eugene"?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.