Detox = Essential in Diary

  • Aug. 4, 2015, 12:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel toxic. Splendour in the Grass, anniversary dinner and girls night out all within a 10 day period. A serious detox is needed. But I regret nothing. Except having that second tequila shot 30 seconds after the first one on Saturday night. But other than that - nothing!!

Splendour was covered in mud and by the end of it so was I, half my clothes and my phone - which was found in the mud twice. Once by a fellow festival-goer who was lovely enough to message Sarah (who I was messaging when I was clearly too inebriated to notice that I had even dropped it) and answer when Eli called it. The other when I somehow dropped it again, no doubt when I somehow flung two ponchos out of my bag (didnt even notice I’d done that until Charlotte and Lauren told me). It was deep within a thick puddle, marinating in mud for at least 15-20 minutes. After checking the last stage I was at and the lost and found hut and Find my iPhone I just started feeling around in puddles near the flung ponchos and found the thing. Still on, a little bit fuzzy and clearly not working at full capacity but still on. Within 48 hours it was working fine. Now a week later even the water damage marks are gone. I was meant to buy a lottery ticket on the weekend but I forgot.

Anniversary was nice. However we’re getting used to going places where the portion sizes are small and the prices are large so we opted for entree, steak tasting plate and three sides. After that dessert was out of the question. We didnt even finish the sides, we were so full. So much so that we got home and passed out into a food coma. #romantic.
And to think I was originally like, “if we’re still not full afterwards at least we’re near other bars and Gelato Messina. HA!

I worked from home the next day but we went out for breakfast to Cornersmith which is down the road from where we both lived. It was voted the best cafe in Sydney so its completely bonkers trying to get in there on the weekend. There are people piled out onto the street just waiting for their name to be called for a seat in there.
We got in there and the menu was kind of obscure but holy hell it ended up being so good. I had poached eggs with rye and whey toast with brussel slaw and pickled cumquat with herbs #hipster.
They have a ‘picklery’ down the road where they make chutneys and jams and pickled stuff which also does frequent classes in cheese making, fermenting, pickling etc. Pretty keen to get amongst that at some point in my Sydney life.

Girls night saw me mixing drinks like it was nobody’s business. Drinking red and white wine before going out, beer with dinner, cocktails for dessert, moving onto vodka and the standard drunk-good-idea-tequila-shot… Geez no wonder I felt like shit the next day. And the next.
It was one of those hangovers where you wake up feeling fine and you high five yourself for drinking that hydralyte before bed and then five minutes later your body and brain catch up with each other and you realise you need more hydralyte, panadol and another 5 hours sleep. And an exorcism.

Needless to say, its taking me a while to get back into the swing of things. Sunday was meant to be a motivation day - shopping and making food for the week however after sushi lunch with Sarah and then watching a movie I ended up using the rest of the afternoon to sleep off what was left of the hangover. Whoops.

I’ve also decided to designate my spare time to study this week, rather than anything physical so I’ll just put that healthy stuff on the backburner til next week and THEN I’ll detox. Promise. .... After my farewell from my other job on Friday.
I’m actually leaving this time. Well, I told them that if shit hits the fan I can come in for a day to help out but unless something major happens I doubt that’ll happen for a while.
I think while my money situation is still in good nick (even after Splendour, paying for the anniversary dinner AND putting more money into savings… wtf?!) I might use Friday’s as study days for a few weeks before working with Mum on a five day basis. Hopefully by then I can also get myself set up to work from home more often and our principal gets their act together and passes on more work for me to do… They’ve been saying “soon” now for the past two years apparently. I got sent the final instruction manual 2 weeks ago but now they want to look over it again. Just give me more work dammit!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.