RIP Maddy in Someone Always Has it Worse

  • July 28, 2015, 4:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My heart is heavy and my soul is aching…An 8 year old little girl in our area went missing and her body was discovered last night in a dumpster. They arrested a 15 year old in connection with her disappearance and murder.

The News Article

I just can’t believe this happened in my own backyard (well about 5 miles from my house)…Part of the reason we moved here is because it is a tight knit community and what most people would consider “safe.”

It just goes to show that you are never safe. Sick flucks are lurking behind every corner…I hope the little punk is charged as an adult and spends the rest of his useless life in prison (as someones bitch).

I never let Evie out of my sight and I’m already horrified at the thought of someday sending her out into the world.

What happened to the days when kids could just be kids?

I feel so bad for Evie’s generation, they don’t get the chance to explore and be children.

When I was little (8 years old, just like little Maddy) I would venture off into the woods for HOURS all alone sometimes…No cell phones either.

My friends and I would be outside from sun up to sun down. Of course we were taught about strangers, not to get in cars with anyone, how pedophiles operate, etc…

One thing we never worried about was real violence from other children (well maybe a little verbal bullying, and sometimes the boys would get in little scuffles, but NOTHING compared to the bullying that goes on now)…

I never worried about being shot at school or snatched of my bike by a neighborhood teen…For the most part we looked up to the older kids in the neighborhood…They didn’t always want to play with us, but they did from time to time…

If anything, the older kids were the ones who encouraged us to stand up for ourselves if need be. They would show us the cool spots to hang out in the woods, they would help us build little make shift forts, and sometimes they’d let us tag along with them on their paper routes…Even though we may have annoyed them from time to time they were never mean.

This world is a crazy fucked up place right now and it makes me sick. I just want to keep Evie at home forever and never take my eyes off of her.

My heart aches for her family as I can’t even begin to fathom what they are going through.


Deleted user July 28, 2015

Very sad. :(

DesignSlave July 28, 2015

That is absolutely heartbreaking. Wow.

dickson. July 28, 2015

I feel so bad for Evie’s generation, they don’t get the chance to explore and be children.
I could not agree more. It sucks so damn badly. Ugh, poor Maddy :(

Simply Adia July 28, 2015

That's sad, but statistically speaking, our children are a lot more safe than we were at that age. It's just being reported more because we are plugged in. Crime has been decreasing since the 90's but reporting has increased. They don't get a chance to explore because their parents have been scared shitless by the news reporting on every incident across the country instead of locally.

Steph Simply Adia ⋅ July 28, 2015

Yep!

ninakir88 Simply Adia ⋅ July 30, 2015

well that's kind of nice to hear

wandering thought July 28, 2015

That's very disheartening. I also used to be outside all day exploring. Me and my sister were actually almost abducted when we were kids but we made it to a friends house. I feel badly that my kids can't explore alone but it scares me more that kids are being that awful

Bella Jess July 28, 2015

I heard the story and wondered if it was close to your area :(

Small Town Girl July 29, 2015

Our generation got the last good childhood years! Its just so sick and wrong out there! My heart breaks that a 15 yr old did this! Just a baby himself really! The evil that lurks, even in the young people today is just...no words. No words to describe the depth of how disgusting it is!

Dirty Numb Angelboy July 29, 2015

Damn

ninakir88 July 30, 2015

sad

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.