clearing out in keeping it postive

  • July 28, 2015, 5:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I do have LOTS of stuff: clothing, books, shoes, teaching supplies (worksheets, etc.) I HATE to throw anything away.

I also have to deal with my late parents’ stuff: electronics, books, clothing, jewelry.

Hence - donations!! There’s a fairly new Goodwill drop off point near my apartment in CA - one quick bus ride. I try to leave 5-6 bags with them each time I go to San Diego.

It was harder to get myself downtown in NYC to do the donations. The bags were FILLED! It was just getting them to either Salvation Army or a nearby church thrift shop. I’ve done better in the past weeks and have brought three bags downtown. I have another packed and ready to go when I go to pick up my new eyeglasses (a 1/2 block away).

I also don’t keep my books, setting them up on the book exchange site (bookmooch.com). I send out about 5 books a week usually. Of course, new books come in regularly also.

Ruthless does NOT come easily to me, but I am getting better. I plan on bringing my old high school year books - from when I attended and from when I worked there - to the reunion this fall. I’ll sell them to whoever might want them. I realized that “sentimental value” goes out the window when I cannot even REMEMBER any of the people whose names appear on the pages.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm July 28, 2015

i have a difficult time even loaning out my books let alone getting rid of them. just can't do it. what if the zombie apocalypse happens and we have no way to charge our nooks? i'll have books to read. angela says she'll start fires with my books! take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ July 28, 2015

LOL.
I still have hundreds of books waiting to be read.... so, if that happens, I'm good.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ July 29, 2015

i always use the zombie apocalypse as an excuse for the odd things i do! angela always laughs at me. just my way of keeping it out there for certain people that i'm 'crazy'. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ July 29, 2015

LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.