My Sunday..... in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • July 27, 2015, 8:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The past week was pretty horrible overall. Waiting for mediation, more drama from Pamala not wanting to cooperate with court orders, missing work for the custody suit, and meeting with the District Attorney. By Saturday, I was wound pretty tight and not having a good day.
Then Sunday came.
I had planned to take all the grandkids to church with me, but I got my times mixed up, so the girls weren’t here in time. Then daughter in law Jillian informed me that company was coming and asked if I could skip church and be home to help entertain. Then Sienna arrived with her biological family, followed shortly after by Raina. For the first time in months I had all five of my grandchildren around me. It would have been even better if grandchild number 6, Micah, were here, but Brandon has asked me to hold off on contacting his mother until some of the custody battle is resolved. I don’t like it, but I agreed. That young man is under enough stress right now, I can’t bring myself to make him feel even more.
By midday, our guests arrived, which consisted of Sienna’s other family; aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents and great-grandparents. We had 25 people here celebrating the occassion with us, and I have to admit it was one of the best days I’ve had in a long time. Our families have meshed so well since meeting that we’re all becoming great friends.
We tend to spend a lot of time together outside all the custody issues working together on our own to form a huge family unit for Sienna and by extension Raina. Sienna’s step-mother Katie is expecting her first child in November and we all want the three girls to grow up as sisters and as close to one another as possible. This poor little town doesn’t know what it’s in for in a few years!
When I step outside my anger and desire to commit dire violence on her, I actually feel a bit sorry for Pamala. She could have been part of this, and we have invited her to each and every get together, but she declines. I feel pretty confident after last week that things will ultimately fall in our favor legally and Raina will be home to stay. Then what will the woman have?
As much as it goes against my grain right now, I know when that time comes I’ll extend the olive branch, because it’s the right thing to do. Hopefully, she will come around at that point. We will see.
So, back to my original topic; we ate, drank a TON (of tea and sodas, lol) and had a very merry afternoon. I actually spent most of it playing with my grandkids, but I needed it as much as they needed the attention.
All in all it was a great day.


NeonLady July 27, 2015

So glad to hear you had a wonderful day in the midst of all this sadness & frustration.

I need tea. July 28, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.