Hot Blooded..check it and see in Feeling like Sybil

  • July 27, 2015, 11:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text
Could someone please explain Hot Flashes to me?
I am a 48 year old Cold Natured woman.
I do not enjoy the cold at all.
I can handle anything down to about 75 degrees, but even then, if it’s night time, I still need a light jacket.
I freeze all summer long inside my own home where the air conditioning fluctuates between MY 78 degrees and HIS 72 degrees.
In church or other public buildings, I have to wear long sleeves.
I just cannot handle the cold.

So when I thought about my impending menopause, which could be starting at any time now in my life, I almost welcomed my idea of “hot flashes”.
Now I know they are not fun. I’ve been told by many friends and relatives that it is a miserable time of life. Too hot to sleep, sweating through your clothes, can’t stand to be alive..
but being a person who is always cold, I was thinking it might be nice to occasionally “warm up”.

That is.. until this summer.
This summer, I am hot.
But not in flashes.
All the time.
In my own home, even when the temp is set on HIS 72.
I’ve even been known to crank it down to 68 when he’s not home!
I’m just hot.
When I get in the car, the MAX AIR gets turned right on me–gas mileage be danged.
I cannot get the studio to cool off when I go to the tv station to film shows.
Our classrooms at school are always miserable.. either too hot or too cold.. and guess how they are feeling now. That’s right HOT!
alt text

I’ve succumbed to lying naked on top of my own bed under the air vent AND ceiling fan.
Trying to cook dinner roasts ME!

I’ve never felt this way..and now I’m starting to get worried because I really don’t believe this IS menopause.
It’s not “flashing”.
It’s coming on and staying on.

So when I get to the point where the flashing starts… somebody better just follow behind me with a bucket or ice water at all times..
cuz I’m gonna need it.
alt text


whowhatwhere July 27, 2015

Plexus helps with that.
Just saying...

A bunch of ladies at my gym were talking about menopause. Before that talk I just thought you didn't get your cycle anymore. I'm now terrified of it.

TactileFeedback July 27, 2015

No fun! I hope you feel better soon. Have you tried a dehumidifier running at home? I've found that sometimes it's humidity more than heat that is the problem.

I am hot natured, and almost always feel too warm. When I overheat, I get cripplingly sick (stomach/headaches mostly). The idea of menopause frightens me.

BaybNJoe July 27, 2015

I'm always cold at home because Patrick keeps the air on. While he's gone, I crank it up to 77, sometimes 78. Otherwise, I just shiver...as I am doing now. I hope these hot feelings will go away soon. As for me, I'm going to adjust the temperature! LOL Hugs!

KT

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.