Weird goings on in Diary

  • July 26, 2015, 2:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since we moved into this house almost three years ago, some weird things have been happening. Jay thinks I’m imagining them, but I definitely am NOT imagining them. His other explanation is that it’s an old house so makes noises, but these aren’t “settling” noises, like creaks and whatnot. However, I don’t believe in ghosts or anything like that so I’m really interested to find a rational explanation for the stuff happening.

This is some of the stuff that’s happened since we moved in, that I can remember. Bearing in mind we live in a detached house so it can’t be the neighbours.

  • A noise woke me up one night, like someone tipping up our recycling box. We have a box with tins, jars, bottles etc. and it makes a racket when Jay tips it into the recycling bin. This noise woke me up one night, really loud, but Jay was in bed with me. I thought maybe I had imagined it, so I lay awake and listened for a while (and I was WIDE awake by this point) and then I heard the kitchen cupboards banging three or four times, like someone was slamming them.
  • One morning as I was leaving for work, I was in the hall putting on my jacket when I heard footsteps walking along the landing. I had just come from upstairs so I knew there was no one up there. I didn’t wait to see what happened next, I just left.
  • A couple of days ago, Jay was in the bath and I was downstairs. I heard a huge bang from upstairs, like he’d fallen over. I ran upstairs to see if he was ok, but he hadn’t moved and thought it was me who’d made the noise. I checked around the house and nothing had fallen over.
  • On Friday just gone, I was getting ready for work and went to the toilet. I then got my lunch ready and went back into the bathroom to do my make up. On the floor, right in front of the toilet, was an empty pot that had had cotton buds in it. It definitely wasn’t there when I left the bathroom or I’d have noticed it seeing as I’d just used the toilet. The window was closed so it couldn’t have been the wind.
  • Friday night I was getting ready for bed and I heard the noise of a guitar falling over. I went downstairs to see if Jay had dropped his guitar, but he was sitting on the sofa and hadn’t been anywhere near it, nor had he heard the noise.
  • Yesterday I was in the house on my own, my laptop was propped up against the table, where it had been for most of the day, when I heard a noise like someone hitting it and it fell over really hard.
  • Also yesterday I heard a loud bang from the dining room but, when I went through, nothing was out of place.

It seems nothing happened for ages, and then five things happen in the space of a few days. As I say, I don’t believe in ghosts so does anyone have a rational explanation for these weird things; am I hallucinating? Going mad?


Hypnotica July 26, 2015

Nope, you've got a poltergeist! Which is kind of cool but I would shit my pants haha. I totally believe in this stuff!

Babe In Toyland July 26, 2015

Do the dogs ever act strange?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 27, 2015

Not that I've noticed.

mutedexposure July 26, 2015

you may not believe in ghosts but they may believe in you. something may be trying to get your attention. If you acknowledge that it could be paranormal and ask for it to please stop as it bothers you it is possible it may stop.

Bomb Shell mutedexposure ⋅ July 27, 2015

But if I don't believe in it, then I can't really acknowledge it :-/ It's not causing any problems, just a bit weird and annoying that Jay doesn't believe me; I don't know why he hasn't noticed any of it! Apart from the bang when he was in the bath, but he thought that was coming from next door, even though we're detached!

Lucretia July 27, 2015

I had friends who used to work for a government funded psychical research society back in the 80s (basically they were ghost hunters). They had a few 'poltergeist' cases. They way they put it was that there was always some kind of stress for one individual in the house (usually a young female), and that the activity was essentially coming from her. Think Roald Dahl's 'Matilda' but subconscious. You could be suppressing all negative emotions and it's coming out as a different form of energy?

It sounds a bit wild but I trust my friends and their experiences. They're both science PhDs (one's a chemist, the other's a physicist), and skeptical. So I figure it's a good guess for your situation.

What do you think it is?

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ July 27, 2015

I have no idea, lol! I didn't think I was stressed but if I'm the only one experiencing these things, then maybe I am! I would be interested to see what sort of findings these studies came up with, I might look into it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.