Would you believe it? in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • July 25, 2015, 1:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Part of me wants to deny the sensations that I have heard so many of my friends express when they become grandparents. I think it is wonderful that my son is a father and his daughter is beautiful. My daughter in law is lovely and so happy to be a mother. My husband is beside himself with pride and joy and can’t stop looking at pictures of her and talking about her. I am okay with all this, but I don’t feel this overwhelming need to focus my life around the new baby who is 2,000 miles away.

We spent last week in Texas and I spent a lot of time with my little granddaughter. She is sweet and a joy to hold and soothe when she’s upset. I love the time with her, but I am only a grandmother and not her mother. I would probably be the same with any baby (and often am with other people’s children). I love babies and have a reputation as being the Baby Whisper on campus and in the area. I think there is maybe something wrong with me that I do not feel the need to be the gushing grandmother everyone expects. I will share photos and stories if asked, but life is full of so much more than boring everyone with my granddaughter. Why than, do I feel as if I am flawed?

This afternoon we Skyped with the kids and our little one looked confused and sleepy. She can’t understand the concepts of Skype and I am not even sure she can actually see the pictures of us yet. It is nice to see her grow and change, I hope I feel differently soon.

Since getting back to town I have been working in the garden and yard, putting up the harvest that was waiting for us. Tomorrow I will work on the Sugar House and hopefully get the final coat of wood petrifier on the outside of the building and will rebuild the doors. Maybe in a week or so I will get the final coat of paint on the outside and get the windows replaced and installed. So many things to do before the fall semester begins again in a month.

Okay, enough of my rambling. I hope you are all doing well.


whowhatwhere July 25, 2015

I bet you will feel differently when she can say that she loves you!

Food Master whowhatwhere ⋅ July 26, 2015

I am guessing you are right about that!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.