We talked in The start of something?

  • Aug. 11, 2013, 3:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I should probably write about this while it's still fresh in my mind. In my last entry I talked about my daughters new boyfriend.

Last night I asked my daughter if she wanted to come with me when I went to pick up my son from work. Normally she says yes and she did last night so off we went.

I was trying to think of how to bring up the subject of her boyfriend with her but luckily she started it off saying quiet directly but not in a confronting way "Are you angry that I'm seeing J?"

I said "I'm not angry. That's not the word. I guess what puzzles me most of all is, and I'm going to make a judgement but it's only based off of what you've said and what I've seen on facebook, it may not be the same when I meet him, but he seems to be everything that you've always been against. He drinks, he smokes. I don't understand what you see in him. You told me you wouldn't want to be on his bad side and your brother has said he seems aggressive. I get worried when I hear things like that"

She replied "Yeah that's why I didn't say anything."

"And it seems like you've only just met him and now he's you're boyfriend?"

"We've been going out a month"

"And that time he was at the bus stop, I couldn't understand why you didn't introduce me"

"That's because we didn't expect you to come so soon and he was smoking"

Then she said some more stuff about his ex's... I didn't get to it but it sounds like he's had a lot and I mentioned that I was worried about her sexual health too and hoped she was making smart decisions.

When I asked her what she liked about him she said he was just easy to be with. Easier than anyone else she's known.

What she doesn't know is that if a guy really wants to be with you, he'll make himself easy to be with... I learnt that from the few guys I dated last year. It's really true that you have to give a guy 4-6 months to know what they're really like.

I also found out that he's studying online and working at the fastfood chain, he lives with his parents... oh, and I asked her what they (his parents) thought of his getting so drunk he passed out and my daughter said it's just his mum at home and though she doesn't like it, she'd rather him do it where she can know he's ok than off with his friends somewhere (he does both from what I can see)

I hope he doesn't lead my daughter into that lifestyle.

I can't remember if there was more to that but she said he wants to meet me so at least he's conscious of making a good impression. This talk with my daughter was calm and non confrontational and she knows I'm cautious and worried for her but also that I can't tell her what to do. It's made me feel a little better that at least we've talked but geez, I just can't help but hope that this relationship doesn't progress.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.