Packed in Earth and Sky

  • July 19, 2015, 10:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been a while since I’ve written simply for the sake of writing… it’s been a weird week. Not bad weird. Just full, and weird.

Worked Monday-Friday. Nothing too unusual there. The normal day shift secretary was on vacation so she had a Per Diem secretary work for her. If I’m being completely honest, I much prefer coming on after the Per Diem worker. She’s always got all of her shit done and I’m not scrambling like a maniac for our half-hour cross-over to catch up before she leaves. She’s a sassy woman from Puerto Rico and she knows how to get shit done.

Had my ROB on Friday and Oliver is doing great. He’s measuring right on time and is already in position. He definitely has plenty of room to move around, but Ginny seems to think he’ll stay put until I deliver. She complimented my abdominal muscles and as silly as it sounds, I was actually really flattered, haha. Even though my stomach looks like a keg as apposed to a six-pack, I’m apparently still in fairly good shape. Go me!

Tim had an appointment with our PCP on Friday as well. He’s been having a lot of difficulty sleeping for quite a while now and his mild-to-severe anxiety has apparently been a lot worse than he’s been letting on. It took almost 4 years of us being together to get him to finally see a doctor, but he finally did it. He was diagnosed with Anxiety Disorder and on Monday will be started on a very small dose of Celexa. He’s nervous and a little apprehensive, but I just keep telling him, “If you don’t like it, you don’t have to take it”. But again, his anxiety has been so bad that he’s driving himself mad just thinking about all of the possible side effects and psyching himself out. I feel so bad. In my first trimester my anxiety was out of control and I could hardly manage to function. I can’t imagine feeling like that all the time. I’m hoping that at his follow-up appointment next month our primary refers him to a therapist. I think talking to someone would help him tremendously.

Saturday was the Scottish Festival. Sadie and I were supposed to volunteer but the woman was so all over the place that she never gave us an assignment or a place to show up… so we just paid admission and enjoyed the day. For the most part is was really great. There was a crazy thunderstorm that rolled through shortly after the Opening Ceremonies, but it only lasted about half an hour and then the sun came out. I had hoped the storm would lift the humidity a little bit but no dice… it just got stickier and hotter.

A blacksmith made me an amazing candle holder that is now the centerpiece on my altar and holding my Goddess candle. I cannot wait to cleanse it for the Full Moon.

After the festival Sadie and I headed to an outlet mall and I picked up some more maternity clothes. She bought a new purse. We grabbed lunch at this shady (but delicious!) Chinese food place. She dropped me off at home and I curled up in the recliner and watched Disney movies until Tim came home.

I woke up this morning, probably around 3 or 4, with acid reflux so bad I almost threw up. I’m pretty sure I actually did a little, and choked on it, which is what woke me up. I jumped out of bed and was gasping for air. My poor husband woke up terrified, thinking the worst, and blindly crawled to the end of the bed where I was standing to make sure I was okay. I managed to catch my breath after 5 minutes or so and slept the rest of the night sitting up. I think I may have to do that tonight, too.

Today was just as busy. I spent time with hubby until he had to go to work and then he dropped me off at Sadie’s. I’m still hunting for something to wear to my baby shower and I can’t find ANYTHING, so we went to Marshall’s. Still didn’t find anything I liked. Sadie bought some new pillows and we headed to Wal-Mart to pick up the shower invitations. I’m not really part of the planning process or anything, but I was excited to see what they looked like. They’re so cute!! I helped Sadie address them tonight and we had JUST enough. She also made a Facebook event for it. I can’t believe it’s only a month away.

She called her aunt after we left Wal-Mart to see if we could jump in her pool for a bit, which thankfully she agreed to. We stopped at my apartment to grab my swimsuit and headed over and spent a good 2 hours just floating in the pool. It was so nice and refreshing. The humidity level was something like 92% today. Freakin unbelievable.

We grabbed dinner at Five Guys, came back to my house, worked on the invitations, and chatted. It was a busy but fun weekend. I missed Sadie. I don’t get to spend a lot of time with her these days.

Back to work tomorrow. I’ve got to take our car in at 8:45 to get the oil changed and the car inspected. I’m exhausted.

Life is good. Baby is good. I’m ready for bed.

<3 Night, Y’all.


ManitouWolf July 19, 2015

Sounds like a great time all around. Would love to see a photo of your candle holder, if you are up to sharing. Woohoo for 5 Guys Burgers. We just LOVE 'em.

four leaf clover July 20, 2015

So glad you and baby are doing well :)

lessoff July 20, 2015

:)
anxiety sucks. im hoping mine goes down to a manageable level after the baby is born, or else ill be trying something

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.