Summer in the South in Life

  • July 18, 2015, 8:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

For those who have a romantic notion of summer in the south I want to paint a more clear picture for you.
It’s freaking hot!!!!!
Imagine - you take a shower. You feel and smell fresh and comfy. Your hair is freshly washed and dried. You walk outside to your car. In the 10 seconds it takes you to walk across the slight shade under the tree where you parked the car everything starts to drip. EVERYTHING. The movies portray summer time down here as everyone sitting around on the porch with ice filled glasses of tea and a ceiling fan barely moving. Ha!!! That’s so not the case. We’ve had heat advisory warnings every day for the past 2 weeks. Our afternoon temps range around 98 or so. Humidity never seems lower than 85%. That puts the heat indexes at 110 or higher. That also means that the air feels like a hot - wet blanket and is thick enough to take a bite out of. Instead of the lazy fan on the porch, you sit inside under the central air set lower than you want to pay for, but higher than you want to feel. You Have a box fan or two going full force and think of any reason not to go outside between noon and 6. Oh and the glass ever stays ice filled. It’s melted in no time.
That said, nothing feels better than coming in hot and sweaty and feeling that cool air from the fan. Sitting in the shade is always a wonderful feeling. And mowing at 8 pm is perfectly fun and acceptable. Lightning bugs add to the fun.
All in all, summer in the south is a pretty awesome time as long as you don’t mind showing a couple of times a day and your clothes always feeling a little damp.


Jigger July 18, 2015

It's so bad here, I can't even imagine how it is down there. The thing I hate the most: getting out of the shower, and feeling the sweat start before I'm even done drying off!

I still have a feral kitten stashed for another day or two while I give her antibiotics. She stays under the back porch. I've insulated it as best I can, and I bought her a fan, but still, it's not so pretty good. I can't wait for fall. And this has been the easiest of my eight summers here!

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ July 18, 2015

Ugh and boob sweat!
We're not hitting dangerous time with the no rain yet, but my figs are hurting. Well, the ones I can wrestle away from the birds, squirrels, and fat raccoon. Even though it means school starting, I'm ready for fall, too.

Jigger dream seeker ⋅ July 19, 2015

Gawd, boob sweat. I am so over it.

Small Town Girl July 19, 2015

Boob and swamp ass is the worst! Otherwise Give me the heat! I love it! I walked out of my house today and my glasses fogged up!

Bella Jess July 21, 2015

I don't want to talk about the $50 more in electricity costs this month but dang is it SWELTERING!!!

dream seeker Bella Jess ⋅ July 24, 2015

Absolutely!!

terriberri July 21, 2015

bry went to florida a yearish ago....and described it the same way, lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.