Happy Days Housewives in Feeling like Sybil

  • July 18, 2015, 3:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text
I was reading this post on ScaryMommy about how the moms in the 1950s had it made.
(you can read it here– 15 Reasons 1950s Moms had it made .. it’s pretty dead on in my opinion!)

Did you read it?
I’ll give ya another minute...... .......... ............
Ok.. ya back?

So, yeh.. they had it easy back then.
I remember watching Happy Days and Bewitched, and thinking, “Man, Mrs. C had the life, didn’t she?” “What an easy life Samantha had, as far as housekeeping goes I mean. (forget about all those witchcraftery problems and just follow me here....)
alt text

I don’t think either one of them were drinking cocktails at 3:00 in the afternoon… at least not on camera, but they did seem to have it a lot easier than we do today. And what about Carol Brady. Sure.. she was from the 60s, but she got to stay home and do social things with her ladies’ organizations and the PTA and she didn’t even have to cook or clean? Now how fair is that??
I want an Alice!
alt text

Yeh… sometimes I want to return to those days.
The men worked and brought home the bacon.
The women fried it up in the pan and served it to an adoring family who were thankful for it.
Then the kids did homework and played records while the parents had other couples over to play cards and drink cocktails.
Women could wear nice clothes all day.. no 3 day old yoga pants and a shirt that has more wrinkles than Cloris Leachman.
alt text

None of this working two jobs, throwing something in the microwave while flipping the laundry and googling how to make a baking soda volcano. Having to feed your family in shifts because one child has to be at ball practice and another one at karate while the third has a dance recital.
alt text

Nice, calm, peaceful evenings in a nice clean home that you had all day to get ready.

I’m sure there were problems then, too… but life just seemed so much
simpler then.
It’s such a hard juggling game these days to have the clean house, well groomed kids who have everything they need for every activity they participate in and get there on time and have eaten a well balanced meal from their immaculate kitchen, and still find time to get frisky on the sofa with your husband.
alt text

I don’t think I’d mind going back to those Happy Days at all sometimes…
especially if the Fonz lived in the apartment over my ceiling!
alt text


RaeofSunshine July 18, 2015

Are you a Scary Mommy? I've never found one outside of my "circle". Too awesome.

StealthBombshell RaeofSunshine ⋅ July 27, 2015

I love Scary Mommy, but have never been a contributor. Most of their stuff seems to be for mothers of littles, and mine are nearly grown now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.