1/4 of a flash, truncated, plus sweet fire of love in Flash Friday

  • July 17, 2015, 9:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the great hall birds frittered the days in the filtered haze of sunlight through age darkened windows, the names of men forgotten on their beaks. In the gloaming the bats would wake with a bustle and wend their way through broken masonary into the weedy-worm-wood salt marsh to feast on bugs rising to starlight, carnal blood hot on their wings.

Over the winter burm sometimes the lapping of water against bent wood would silence the crickets and the air would still. Or a dog barking at something in a tree or barking because it’s what dogs do and the sound ripples through the marsh and passes over and is gone.


Kimber July 17, 2015

Heh. Below your entry I got an ad for the DogSilencer electronic bark control system.

haredawg drools Kimber ⋅ July 18, 2015

That is funny. I never quite know whether the ads are mocking me or praising me or if they are mocking or praising the author of the the entry. I mean I see different ads when I look at your page than, I'm sure, you do. I have yet to see a dog silencer bark control system. I mean I've seen one in a store, I asked the clerk if they worked she just laughed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.