30 questions. in Summertime, and the living is easy... 2015

  • July 17, 2015, 1:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. List the credit cards in your wallet.

I only have one, it’s a visa and to be used emergencies. I don’t do debt.

  1. How close to perfect was today?

Well, it’s only just started but I’m in a bath so that’s good :-)

  1. When did you last sing out loud?

That would be yesterday lunchtime when a child who usually tries to keep the peace lost her temper (which I’ve never seen before), shouting out the immortal words “YOU’RE NOT MY FRIEND ANY MORE!” she burst into tears so we had a chat and I sang one of my made up songs (which can never be repeated because they’re spontaneous) about how she was a friend maker not a friend breaker. It was to the tune of Goldfinger! She giggled and cried and giggled some more, then I got the other child and I explained to them that sometimes people say things they don’t mean when they’re angry, which was what happened, but they were still friends and they played together again.

  1. What was the last gathering you attended?

Gathering? Gathering of what?! My lunchtime job often feels like a gathering though, but not in such a way. It often reminds me of a Disneyesque African Savannah. Herds of children romp or gallop past me on their way to new and exciting places in their games whilst others stay in one spot, ruminating with their friends.

  1. Did anything make you sad today?

As I said. Today had only just started but yesterday my heart was breaking. I’ve been shadowing a TA this week with her one on one child. She’s been with the child for four years and has chosen to leave so that she can move her life forwards; but her heart is breaking at leaving the child. It was so hard watching her and not ask how she was because I knew it would trigger tears.

  1. Share a secret thought.

I love the gentle stance my school has on behaviour issues, I may link to their policy one day, but I think they could take it even further (in a gentle direction), especially with the children with severe behavioural issues. I emailed management with an article about it recently which actually went down really well :-)

  1. List 5 things you wish you invented.

I wish I had learned coding in the 90’s so I could have invented things that left us more financially stable.

  1. What’s the last recipe you prepared?

Pasta with cheese sauce. I make the damned best cheese sauce you ever tasted! Last night it had red Leicester and double Gloucester.

  1. Who is your most reliable friend?

Maria. She’s my friend with whom I talk in Spanish every week.

  1. What made you lose track of time today?

Today? Nothing yet but usually work does as I become very involved in what I’m doing.

  1. What are you confident about?

My abilities in my new job, my new intervention which I started last week, maths too.

  1. How did you do it?

Fake it till you make it baby ;-)

  1. What is the last purchase you made?

Milk, bread and yogurt. Non food would be some children’s gold hoop earrings to go in my top-ear piecing.

  1. Did you show someone appreciation today?

It’s going to have to be yesterday again. Yes, I thanked each child I worked with for working with me.

  1. How many push-ups can you do?

My strength is building again, probably one and a half right now!

  1. What are you looking forward to?

I love my job but it’s emotionally tiring so the summer holidays are the way to go. Bring on next Wednesday, 1.30pm!

  1. What is your favorite dish to prepare?

I love cooking, there is no one thing.

  1. There is no such thing as too much _____.

I’m going to change that to ‘many’. There’s no such thing as too many hugs.

  1. What is the most important thing you were told today?

Any and all info regarding new child next school year. Also someone who had an insight into how Talaia may be feeling about a certain issue right now.

  1. What was the last thing you thought about today?

Yesterday? I can’t wait to be strong enough to run because I struggle to sleep when I’m not running.

  1. What is the last book you read?

Goodnight Mr Tom by Michelle someone. We’ve been reading it in year five but I’ve missed lots of it so I got my own copy.

  1. What matters today?

Saying goodbye to the child I’ve worked with this year.

  1. What project are you working on?

I have a hand sewn hexagon patchwork quilt on the go. Huge hexagons in funky fabrics!

  1. Without looking at the previous years’ entry first, sign your name.

Not sure this is applicable, just some questions I got from pinterest…

  1. What is your most prized possession?

Possession.. hmm… I don’t covet much material stuff, I think my house because it keeps the family safe and warm, err own the vast majority of it too!

  1. Were you ‘good’ or ‘bad’ today?

Oh, I’m always good, even when I’m bad I’m good at it!

  1. What is the smartest thing you did today?

Not ask the TA how she was..?

  1. What was in your mailbox today?

Probably there will be a few pizza/curry leaflets.

  1. Today I was so ____.

Tired…

  1. The last thing I bought myself was ______

Didn’t we do this? Gold, hoop earrings in a small size.


Deleted user July 17, 2015

Fun!
I love your Goldfinger rendition, and the African savannah analogy. Sad about the TA having to leave the student - does the student feel the same way?

thesunnyabyss July 17, 2015

I may steal this, very interesting,

I feel for the TA and child too,

have a good day!

Ceylon Sapphire July 17, 2015

interesting insights... :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.