Teaser Trailer in Site Updates

  • July 15, 2015, 2:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A while back I hinted about changes to the site involving a massive design change. I believe there was also an entry warning you that you might wake up one morning and see a totally different site with no warning at all.

And yet, here I am offering up a sneak preview.

I’m still working behind the scenes, spinning the clay and carefully sculpting what I hope is a slightly cleaner and improved design for the site. And yes, there will be some amount of personalization for larger displays, that doesn’t interfere with readability.

Something like this:

(click to see full size)

It’s pretty much going to look more like a personal blog, I think.

Please ignore the unsightly ink blots. I’m keeping any potential name changes under wraps for now. :)

And yes, others will be able to see your personalization choices, if they so choose. If people want to opt out and go with all white or all black, that will be an option as well.

I’m not going to be maintaining a whole slew of themes similar to the current setup. There will just be white and dark, with the option to box it in like the example above and choose a wallpaper. I’ll probably just grab a wide assortment of tiles that can be hosted on the site, and possibly look at a more deluxe option to choose what images you host and use as a premium subscription option. Someday!

And as I said before, it’s a work in progress. You’re not seeing a finished product yet.


Decayed Elvis July 15, 2015

Thumbs up!

simple mind Decayed Elvis ⋅ July 15, 2015

Thank you sir!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm July 15, 2015

looks interesting. take care,

Cat Mommy July 15, 2015

Me likey! I can't wait to see what the new name is either. Will we be getting the changes this year or should we be expecting more by 2016?

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ July 15, 2015

I've already got a lot done so later this year I think. :)

M July 15, 2015

Like.

Mum of Yum July 15, 2015

Looking great!

Deleted user July 15, 2015

As long as I have a place to write, I'm happy :)

•kitkat• July 15, 2015

Oooh! I like!

Lobbastah July 15, 2015

Rock on!

patrisha July 15, 2015

SSounds interesting!

Leanne 🌈 July 15, 2015

Looks good :) I get a Wordpress and Blogger feel all good.

Mr. Mofo July 15, 2015

Looks very well layed out. Although I think from now on all teaser trailers should have Margot Robbie in them.

simple mind Mr. Mofo ⋅ July 15, 2015

That new Harley Quinn is very easy on the eyes.

Mr. Mofo simple mind ⋅ July 15, 2015

Sir, your secret power is the power of understatement.

NorthernSeeker July 15, 2015

I'm very grateful that you do all this work for the site. The main thing for me is that you host a reliable site where I can make friends and talk to my friends.

crystal butterfly July 15, 2015

Please don't mess it up too much. I'm here because it is not as confusing as many of the blog sites.

simple mind crystal butterfly ⋅ July 15, 2015

I will try my best.

Finn July 15, 2015

I love it.

Deleted user July 15, 2015

Can't really judge it till I see it, but was hoping we could choose our own customized backgrounds and be able to search our entries. It would be nice not to have to code each entry with a visitor code too, and just be able to put that in one spot and forget it. :) Really REALLY hope you're not going to take away our individual books and throw all our entries into one big blog!

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ July 15, 2015

I do plan on some big improvements for search, but I'm not sure if that will be part of the new site changes yet. We'll see how it goes. And don't worry, the basics of Prosebox aren't changing, like books.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ July 15, 2015

That's GREAT to know! I hate it when I get hooked on a site just to see it eventually become something totally different over time.

Meginsanity July 15, 2015

Ooh, I like it a lot. I would also really like a choice of fonts (either just visible to the user or to everyone).

NeonLady July 15, 2015

It looks great!!

janeanger July 15, 2015

I too would love a calendar view. I used to love going through my OD like that and seeing what I had written on the same day in previous years. Or any easy was to access archives besides a list would be great. I'm flexible.

And I like the look so far! I think it will turn out well.

Jaebella July 15, 2015

Awesome work! Thanks!

Dancing.Shadow July 15, 2015

Love it...reminds me of a blog like Wordpress or Blogger :)

Deleted user July 15, 2015

Looks great!

littlefallsmets July 16, 2015

I dig. Looks like you're taking some cues from the parts of the old Open Diary that worked well and that's awesome!

Etoile Filante July 16, 2015

How exciting!! xXx

Deleted user July 16, 2015

is this one of those trailers where the best parts of the movie are in the trailer?

Seriously, as long as I have someone to whine to.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ July 17, 2015

There's actually a cameo by Han Solo. Oops, well now I've ruined it for you. ;)

Deleted user July 16, 2015

Hi
I like this new format better.

If you could add a scroll bar for the text area, it will keep the top menu and first and third panel around it, stable. It also helps your display some ad by the 'Tab and Widget' space. Just my $0.02.

Keep up the great work. You are building a lot of good karma. :-)

bobbi01 July 16, 2015

Love the new format. Whilst I'm here, just want to say how much I appreciate this site and how reliable it is. Great work!

simple mind bobbi01 ⋅ July 17, 2015

Thanks! :)

shnooze July 17, 2015

:D

Everything Good Rebecca July 17, 2015

Change usually does turn out to be for the better, so I'm game! I admit I still miss a few specific things from OD (sorry to bring that up) though. I'm hoping someday we'll have a calendar view, a search my PB option, and the ability to click next entry while I'm browsing entries.

simple mind Everything Good Rebecca ⋅ July 17, 2015

There's currently the previous/next navigation on entries from the left column, though I admit it's a bit clunky, so I'll be simplifying that. And there will be search. And everyone is requesting the calendar so I'll probably look at something like that as well. :-)

Everything Good Rebecca simple mind ⋅ July 18, 2015

Wow, this sounds better all the time. Thank you for all you do, really!

MissMeg simple mind ⋅ July 21, 2015

Yes Calendar would be AWESOME! :)

middle age pearl July 18, 2015

Looks great!

synapse July 18, 2015

I am afraid of drastic change but if you could implement more detailed privacy settings, such as friend groups for different kind of entries, that would be awesome.

Unexpected Error July 20, 2015

I thought we'd gotten past the days of customised page colours, man!

Stephably July 20, 2015

It looks great, nice and clean. can't wait!

james ensor July 21, 2015

YOU'RE CHANGING THE NAME?! But I mentioned ProseBox in the acknowledgments of my book!

simple mind james ensor ⋅ July 21, 2015

When is this bestseller being released? Maybe I'll reconsider. :-)

james ensor simple mind ⋅ July 21, 2015

Supposed to hit shelves in November.

MissMeg July 21, 2015

I LOVE IT! Looks clean and easy to navigate, too!

Any chance there will be an ability to import our old OD entries? I'm still patiently waiting for that... :)

Bird of Paradise July 21, 2015

In whatever you do to this site, just have fun as you do it.

Squidobarnez July 22, 2015

this seems like it will be wonderful for the site, thank you for working on this "place."

I hope you're having an awesome now.

PB-buddy-huggies

simple mind Squidobarnez ⋅ July 22, 2015

Thank you, and hi! (I see you sometimes at Ensor's place)

Deleted user July 23, 2015

Looks great so far! Thanks for keeping us posted and thanks for all the hard work you do!

invisible ink July 24, 2015

Your he brains of the operation so I have complete faith in your updates.... love this website...

HarleyBabe July 24, 2015

Oh, I hope there will be more color options, too. I would so pay for that.

Loki July 25, 2015

  • I hope that there will be some colour! =P
Reading_Blankie 📚 July 27, 2015

looks awesome!

you get the "momma's thumbs up"

Mehuh 2.0 July 29, 2015

Looks really nice! I like the new possible look. I see you already addressed the whole "previous and next" thing, so I will just sit here and clap my hands in joy.

ParyNoid July 29, 2015

It's gonna be rad!

ElvenAssassin August 06, 2015

Do hope you at least keep the slate grey...

Lola Falana August 06, 2015

Personally it can look just like this and I am just so happy with this - this place where I can come to every day or almost everyday and just write. Get out my angst, plan a little bit of the future mayby. Dream...whatever. This place is a life saver and I am serious when I say that. It feels good to get it all out. Good, bad and the ugly. Thank you for this. You can do whatever. You have my blessings.

simple mind Lola Falana ⋅ August 06, 2015

:-)

Winter24375 August 19, 2015

one thing I miss from od is the diary circles.. it'd be nice to have a format like that. it's been a year & a half & I still miss that place :/

.Java.Junkie. Winter24375 ⋅ August 25, 2015

Me too!!!

.Java.Junkie. August 25, 2015

Ohhh I like what I am seeing so far!! Wait a name change?! Hm.....

Ophidia September 14, 2015

Looks great! Thanks for all your hard work!
I hope you don't change the name though... I really like "Prosebox" :)

Dictynna September 19, 2015

Looks good! A wallpaper option will be welcome :)

MissMeg December 13, 2015

Any updates on this??

simple mind MissMeg ⋅ December 14, 2015

Slow going, but still going. Holiday season is very busy so I'll probably get back to some serious updates in January.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.