Stuff in Diary

  • July 12, 2015, 11:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last weekend we went to Charlie and Luke’s wedding in Dartmouth and it was a lovely day. Charlie was crying even as her dad was walking her down the aisle, then she couldn’t stop giggling! The lady conducting the ceremony had to make her look out of the window for a minute and compose herself, bless her! She did really well, though, and managed to read out her vows.

Luckily the weather was glorious because we then had a boat trip around the harbour. I’m not good on boats, but the going was smooth and we didn’t go out to sea, so I was pleased we could always see the land and it was good fun!

Their dog, Daisy, was a ring bearer and she was so well behaved. She went to the party afterwards as well and was still running around saying hello to everyone until well after midnight, she must have been shattered.

Charlie was wearing these shoes, they are amazing!

Here are some of my photos.

Married five minutes and he’s already snogging another woman!

Shiny happy people.

Confetti.

On the boat (She had changed her shoes because the unicorns were too hard to walk in!

A sea themed cake.

With Daisy in the water!

Loads of fun. We were sharing an apartment with Rich and Jess, but Rich forgot to tell us that he’s a sleepwalker. At about 3:30am, he walked into our bedroom, opened the curtains to the French windows and grabbed the knob for the curtain tie backs. He tried to turn it, gave up and walked back out. It was a bit creepy but also funny. Apparently he sleepwalks all the time; once he walked in on two of his friends having sex and just stood at the end of the bed staring at them, so it could have been worse!



We went to look at a wedding venue today. They showed us around, let us fall in love with the place and then told us that a Friday in March costs £5,000 to hire it. That information wasn’t anywhere on their website or offered to us before we arrived to look around; most other places we’ve looked at offer free venue hire so we can’t really afford to spend £5,000 just on that. It doesn’t include any food or drinks or anything else, literally just the venue hire. Waste of time and disappointing that we know what we’re missing out on. Five months engaged and still no closer to booking anywhere. I’m going to have to try and win the £10,000 jackpot on Tipping Point!


I failed my roller derby minimum skills test again. Bloody transitions and backwards laps again. I didn’t think I had made any progress since last time, but the head of training sent me a Facebook message to say she thought I’d improved massively and I’m really close. She’s asked the team coach to give me some one-to-one time as they really want me to pass and get out there playing games; it’s nice to know I’ve got the head of training and coach behind me, they must really believe in me :o)


For the first week in August, I’ve signed up to GISHWHES, introduced to me by Candice. Basically they give you a big list of weird and crazy tasks to complete, you and your team members complete as many as you can and the winning team gets a trip to Costa Rica. I’ve booked a few days off work and I’m going to spend it with my family, so they can help me to complete the tasks. I’m really excited to see what they’ve come up with and get started on it! There are still a few places left on the team, so if you fancy having a go, leave me your email address and I’ll send you an invite; anyone in the world can join and it’ll be loads of fun!


Mam and Dad popped in to see us on their way back from Spain, they stayed a couple of nights and we had fun going the pub and just chilling out for a bit. Mam was keen to get back home, though, as she’s been away for a month but her dad, my Granda, has been very ill in hospital and she’s been really worried about him. I’m not entirely sure what happened but I think he fell over and couldn’t move for days. No one knew what was wrong for a while; broken back? Broken hip? Trapped nerve? He was in hospital for a few weeks getting physiotherapy but is now back at home. He still isn’t well and there’s talk of getting a bed set up for him downstairs. I know he’s well into his 80s but he seems to have become very old very quickly :o(


Last updated July 12, 2015


history of love July 12, 2015

Both pairs of shoes on the bride are amazing!

That's really mean about the wedding venue, I wonder if some people love it so much that they actually do pay all that money for it!?

Hope your grandad recovers well.

Bomb Shell history of love ⋅ July 12, 2015

I think they must do, that's probably their main tactic. It is very popular; 2016 is already fully booked and 2017 is filling up quickly too, there must be a lot of rich people about, the hire price went up to £8,000 for a Saturday in June!

history of love Bomb Shell ⋅ July 12, 2015

Wow. £8,000 (or less) can be people's entire budget. How some people live, eh?

Lucretia July 12, 2015

It's like that here with venues as well, some venues here have packages that wildly inflate food/drink choices and then call the venue 'free'. Mostly the charges are vast though. It's worth considering a registry office and then moving on to a venue you like, that also saves you the registrar's call out fee which is a few hundred quid.

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ July 12, 2015

We really want to have everything in the same place so we don't have to worry about moving people about; most of the venues we like are in the countryside, miles away from towns and register offices. This venue did have very reasonable food and drink prices, and the venue hire fee includes three enormous bedrooms, but the saving isn't enough for us to afford the hire fee :o(

Waterfire July 12, 2015

I NEED THOSE SHOES. NOW. YESTERDAY.

I'm glad you're getting the support from your team. When I was with the Central City Rollergirls, I was in a similar position but they just bemoaned the fact I wasn't getting any better. It was such a cliquey club though, they probably would have never let me in with the 'big girls'. It hurts my heart a bit though, because I loved playing, when I was allowed :(.

Bomb Shell Waterfire ⋅ July 13, 2015

They're from Irregular Choice, available online ;o)

A few weeks ago our alphas played against CCR and they were complaining about them, saying they're really bitchy and play dirty. Every other team they play, they get along really well and have a hug and a laugh afterwards, I've never heard them complain about anyone except CCR, so I can see why you decided to quit. How about trying a different team, would you be able to join the Dames?

Babe In Toyland July 13, 2015

Granda was still making people laugh in hospital, he was quite cheery considering! He made me giggle because he won't eat the hospital food, just the pudding, so nana was having to take him food he liked...like a naughty schoolboy!
His room was opposite the gym and every day he was being walked there and back and he'd have great fun confusing visitors telling them he'd been to see Jim!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.