Hiding from the public in Site Updates

  • Nov. 26, 2013, 12:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In preparation to allow search engines to index any public content on Prosebox, I offer a special new setting for the more reclusive types. Based on feedback from a previous update, I offer you the following preference setting:

  • Hide me completely from public view

This setting does a few things:

  • Any public books you have will be automatically converted to members only books, and the entries will become members only as well (keep in mind that entry pages can be cached for an hour and a privacy change may not show up immediately on the entry display, though the setting will be active immediately)
  • You will no longer have the option to make a book public, defaulting you to Members Only
  • Your comments on a public entry will not be visible to anyone not logged into the site
  • Your profile will not be accessible to anyone not logged in
  • You won't show up in a user search for someone not logged in

It's basically Members Only Stealth Mode. It's like a Members Only jacket that doubles as an invisibility cloak!!!

Meanwhile, I'm no longer blocking the search engines, since this setting gives you more privacy than you've ever had on Prosebox, if you so choose. Enjoy a life of privacy, or a life of potential stardom. Your choice.


Lyn November 26, 2013

Nice change for people who want to stay boxed up.

Teflon Superhero Lyn ⋅ November 26, 2013

YEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!

One Angry Dwarf Teflon Superhero ⋅ November 26, 2013

(••) ( ••)>⌐■-■ (⌐■_■)

One Angry Dwarf Teflon Superhero ⋅ November 26, 2013

oh screw you formatting

(not really though i appreciate all the work you're doing but my sunglasses meme is screwed up now UGH)

Teflon Superhero One Angry Dwarf ⋅ November 26, 2013

http://i.imgur.com/w7OTn4X.png

Deleted user November 26, 2013

Cool :) Not that it bothered ME, but it's very considerate :)

Deleted user November 26, 2013

Thank you!

Deleted user November 26, 2013

yay. and can I just say, I love how you can see the notes you have left for others.. I hated how that wasn't possible on od, unless you subscribed.

Leslie Bruce November 26, 2013

So we can't have a public book AND a hidden book?

simple mind Leslie Bruce ⋅ November 26, 2013

You could always have different privacy levels on books. If you don't want to be completely hidden from anything public, just don't use the new setting.

Leslie Bruce simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

One book I want to be totally public, the other I want to be completely hidden.

Leslie Bruce simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

Hidden as in "members only".

simple mind Leslie Bruce ⋅ November 26, 2013

Yeah, you have that. Just edit the book. Every book can be Public, Members Only, Friends Only, or Private.

Leslie Bruce simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

Will my user name still pop up on google searches?

simple mind Leslie Bruce ⋅ November 26, 2013

If you don't use the new setting, then yes. You can't have public content AND stay hidden.

Silverstar46 November 26, 2013

Let's make you a Stahhh!

Leanne 🌈 November 26, 2013

Deleted user November 26, 2013

Word.

OneSassyLadyNKY November 26, 2013

Yayness. Now if we could just be able to hide from other PB members and not just the world wide web ... LOL

Deleted user November 26, 2013

I am glad you added that. Thank you I took advantage of it as soon as I saw it...even better that not only are my entries Members Only but my comments are too.

You rock SM...totally.

JadedAngel68 November 26, 2013

I really like this thanks :)

cricket_factor November 27, 2013

I'm definitely going to use it. THANK YOU.

Rerrin November 29, 2013

Invisibility cloak, f yeah!

hugadog November 29, 2013

Forgive me if this has already been addressed (or is being addressed), but one reason I don't write here more is because I can't go "friends only." Anyone can become a member, which means if they know what to look for, they can read entries that I'd rather keep between me and a few select people. Is a fix coming for this?

Otherwise, great job on the site! It's fairly easy to use, loads quickly, and the people are awesome. I'd just like to feel a bit more secure with private-y stuff. Thanks for your all your hard work here!

simple mind hugadog ⋅ November 29, 2013

Actually that was addressed quite a while ago. You can change privacy settings by editing your book (and all entries in the book will have that privacy level). There's public, members only, friends only, or private.

james ensor December 02, 2013

The busty Chinese lady In the ads makes me feel funny.

simple mind james ensor ⋅ December 02, 2013

You see that one too? I thought it was just me that they were trying to market Asian mail order brides to.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.