07-04-2015 in Regular Stuff

  • July 4, 2015, 10:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hello everyone,

I hope you all had a nice Independence day. I did absolutely nothing. We had plans but they sort of fell through due to the weather and a sick kid. Aimee and all, did get to go see fireworks but there was no room left for me to go along. I didn’t mind at all, I’m just glad the kids got to go and have fun. I did hear plenty of fireworks. It was to the point of ridiculousness! They were so loud and went on forever. All I could think about were all the poor animals who were terrified. You would never have believed I live in a county where fireworks are illegal.

Thanks for your kind comments about my accident. I still feel horrible about it and it may be a while till we can come up with the deductible to get it fixed. I guess it’s just that we have had a lot of crappy cars and we finally got a nice one. It makes it extra hard to swallow.

My great nephew, Nick, just became engaged. I have two nieces and we are very close in age. I am close to both but especially the youngest who is six years my junior. Nick was the first boy in our family for 33 years! The only other boy was my brother and he died 16 years before Nick was even born. I fell in love with Nicholas at first sight. To say he was spoiled by all us women, is a true understatement!

I’ve always spent a lot of time with Nick and we are very close. I’m keeping my mouth shut but I can’t say I’m happy about the engagement. First of all, they have only been dating 6 months. That’s still the honeymoon phase of a relationship! And I hate the way it all came about. He was dating a sweet young girl for about a year when he became attracted to his fiancee. The feeling was obviously mutual. They all 3 worked at the same place
although his old girl friend was part time and was only there a few days a month.

To make a long story short, Nick dumped his girlfriend for the new girl. I was so disappointed in the way he handled it. He knew he did wrong but he seemed powerless where this new girl was concerned. Anyway, I did let him know how I felt about the situation, said I would hate for some guy to do this to my granddaughter. But what’s done is done. He’s my nephew and however terrible he acted, I still love him.

Now I should my family is very middle class. Half of them live in the country and lead very simple lives, Nick included. I think you even go as far as to call some of them rednecks lol. Nick has always been a country boy, jeans and t-shirts, trucks and country music. You get the picture.

Well this young lady apparently comes from money and already I can see changes in Nick. He bought her a beautiful ring and is working 13 hours days to pay for it. They are having a catered engagement party at their (her) home. And it is a “white attire only” event. You can bet Nick didn’t come up with that one! Lol

I’m not sure of the house situation. I believe her parents own it and either gave it to her or let her live there. I’m not sure how much money they have, but I do know the street Nick and she live on, is named after her family. That’s old money!

I really don’t want to go to this party. Mainly because I would have to buy a gift and a new outfit. Big girls don’t wear white! On the other hand, I do want to support him and I can’t wait to see what his country boy buddies show up wearing. That part should be fun.

Have any of you ever been to a “white attire only” event?


Roseoftexas July 05, 2015

I never heard of such a thing...I'd wear what I wanted, maybe something light colored if not white...I'm sorry you had a sick grandgirl...:(

Miss you very much,♥

Ferret Mom July 05, 2015

I'm sorry you're upset about Nick's situation, but I can understand why you are.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.