Tipping Point in Diary

  • July 3, 2015, 8:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tipping Point

In October last year, I applied for loads of gameshows; Catchphrase, Tipping Point, Deal or No Deal and a few others. I didn’t hear anything back from them so I just assumed I hadn’t got on. A couple of weeks ago, I had a call from the people at Tipping Point saying they would like to audition me! I had to do a mini audition on the phone and answer some general knowledge questions. I got through that part and was invited to a live audition in Birmingham last Wednesday. There were about 20 people there and we had another general knowledge quiz and then we had to speak in front of the group and a camera for a couple of minutes, just telling them about ourselves; hobbies and interests etc. One woman was staring at the floor the entire time, so I don’t think she’s ideal for TV. Someone else got up and basically just said she’s 29, has two kids and is a midwife. And that’s it. I was prattling on about roller derby, climbing mountains, getting engaged, films, knitting etc. etc.

Well, today I got an email to say that I’ve been shortlisted for filming! They had to wade through thousands of application forms, invited a small percentage to a telephone audition, a small percentage of those to a live audition and then a percentage of those got shortlisted, so I’m really excited that I’ve got this far! Being shortlisted doesn’t necessarily mean that I’m going to get on the programme, but I’ve got a bloody good chance. I could get called on any time between now and December, so I might have a long, tense wait! Excitimacated.

Roller Derby

I had a rubbish roller derby session on Monday. I’m struggling with my backwards laps and am really close to meeting the test standard, but I just can’t get the last tiny bit. Two people spent the best part of an hour with me, giving me tips and helping me, and it really improved my speed. I was still a little short, but was pleased with my improvement. Then Emi came along; she hadn’t been in the session until then so hadn’t seen what I’d been doing. I told her I was tired of going backwards and needed to do something else, but she decided that she was going to help and started going on and on and on about it, but not in a very nice way. “Why can’t you do it? What are you doing wrong?” I’m not doing anything wrong, I’m getting there slowly, I’ll get there eventually. “Do it again, I’ll follow you, I’ll push you. Have another go. Don’t worry about the other people on track, they’ll get out of your way. I don’t understand why you can’t do it.” etc. etc. She thought she was helping, but it just ended up really demoralising me and making me feel crap :o(

Wednesday was fun, though. It was a free session for us to do what we wanted, so we all decided we were going to do 200 laps in 45 minutes. I thought this was impossible, especially in this heat, but I decided to have a go anyway. I couldn’t believe it when I did 200 laps in 41 minutes! Woooo. I have a giant blister on my foot now but it was a lot of fun. They then decided we were going to try the 27 laps in five minutes, which is a requirement for testing. I thought they were mad, but had a go anyway. I’ve only done 27 laps once, normally I get about 26. But this time I got 28.5 laps…straight after doing 200 laps in 41 minutes. How the hell that happened, I have no idea; maybe I need to do 200 laps before my next testing session, lol. I think my endurance is a lot higher than I expected!

Weekend

The weekend brings a trip to Devon for a wedding. My and Jay had originally decided to stay for a few days after, seeing as I’m not going on holiday this year. But, when I went to book it and asked what he wanted to do, he announced that he’d booked a week in Tenerife with his mates, the exact same week we were meant to be in Devon. Pissed off I am, and I still am. It’s a 200 mile journey each way, and now I have bring him back on Sunday afternoon so he can go straight to the airport for his holiday; not forgetting that he can’t drive so it’s all down to me! I tried to get today off work so we could go in the morning, have a wander round town, have some dinner and meet friends for drinks, but I couldn’t get the day off so now we have to go after work and won’t be getting there until about 11pm tonight. Shortest trip to Devon ever…

Well, it should be a nice wedding, they’re having a “jolly boat trip”, the weather is meant to be nice and I’ll get to see loads of my friends. Make the most of it.

Other Stuff

Work is still going well. I’ve now done five weeks and still enjoying it. We’ve been taking more calls and email this week and have picked up loads of new information so I think we’re going to get on well :o)

I’ve been healthy eating and madly exercising for a few weeks now but my weight just won’t shift! I seem to be stuck on 10st 3lb (143lb). Maybe that’s just where my natural weight is. Oh well, I suppose healthy eating and exercise can’t be bad for me.


Last updated July 12, 2015


Camdengirl July 03, 2015

I'd drop him at the train station and let him figure it out...

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ July 03, 2015

It's too late now, I don't have any further hotels or days off work booked.

Babe In Toyland July 03, 2015

By healthy, what do you mean? I've lost a few pounds by sticking to low GI food, lots of seeds and grains, with the skins on they're even better.
Urgh, Jay. I'll kick his backside!

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 03, 2015

I don't know what low GI means. I've been snacking on fruit, raw carrots, raw nuts etc instead of crisps or chocolate. The rest of my diet is already healthy; Quorn, lots of veg, things like that. I hate it when I have an occasional chocolate bar or can of Coke because I can guarantee someone will notice every time and comment like "I don't know how you stay slim when you eat/ drink things like that!" So I say it's only once or twice a week and they scoff "yeah, of course it is." No, really, I look after my body! Anyone can do it!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ July 04, 2015

Low GI means it takes aaaages to digest, so you don't get hungry. Basically high fibre. I've been trying to steer clear of processed foods too, but it's not easy!

Lucretia July 06, 2015

Ooh exciting! I hope you get on :)

Don't worry about your weight, if you're skating and doing you're probably gaining muscle and at your height you probably don't want to be under 10st anyway. It's better to be fit and muscular, than lighter without any tone. You need mass to get a fantastic ass!

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ July 07, 2015

I know that's true, but I still see the podgy bit on my tummy that just won't budge lol. Maybe I'm just going to have to stop comparing myself to my 19 year old self and accept that it's a natural part of aging!

Lucretia Bomb Shell ⋅ July 07, 2015

They say 'abs are made in the kitchen', so it's probably a diet thing. Mind, since finding out I have a wheat intolerance I've lost 2" off my waist - not fat but bloating and it's made a HUGE difference.

Also, weight lifting is the way forward. You do loads of cardio, add in a few weight sessions and your figure will shift, just not your weight x

Loopy Hooky July 09, 2015

Even when I was eating nothing for 8 months because of my gallbladder I didn't fall below 10st 3oz :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.