Hot weather, charity shops and gardening. in The View from the Terrace

  • July 3, 2015, 4:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gosh it’s hot. I’m glad I found that long cotton skirt in the charity shop! Cat took me to another little shopping centre yesterday where there were lots more charity shops. I was hoping I might find some cool tops or even a summer dress, but everything I liked was a size 10 or 12 and everything in my size looked frumpy and old ladyish. That’s a really funny thing to say because I’m 68 so I guess I am an old lady! but if I see something that looks like my mother would have worn it I’m put right off. I did find a lovely lilac evening bag which will go with a lot of my oufits.

Cat bought some children’s underwear in the bargain store which will fit her because she is a size 6 now. My aunt used to buy children’s clothes too. Cat is a lot like her in build and personality. My aunt was small in size but had a large personality just like Cat. She also had her own style and a tendency to be a little outrageous, also like Cat.

I have been doing my yoga much more regularly since I came here. I do it when Cat’s in the shower. Today I found I can sit cross legged on the floor again! I haven’t been able to do that for about a year. I just needed more exercise. I really will have to keep that up when I get home.

I expect Cat will go out with the dog later. I would like to go with her but I don’t know how far I can walk in this heat. I think I will give it a go to get to the nearest park as I miss my garden. There is a flower shop on the way and I might buy something for Cat’s little garden. She hasn’t done anything with it yet. It’s mainly paved but there are 2 flower beds filled with weeds, perhaps I can get her to make a start this evening, it would be good therapy.


🌻StillJustMe🌸 July 03, 2015

I need to work out in my yard but the daggone rain won't let me....

Deleted user July 10, 2015

Gardening is one of my passions :-) I can never seem to get enough plants :-) I know what you mean about frumpy clothes ! I am 61 and I still want clothes that I love and make me feel stylish . Senior citizen fashion grosses me out :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.