Flash Monday, I don't know where this came from, but it came hard in Flash Friday

  • June 29, 2015, 12:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“Tell me again.”

“What?”

“Look in my eyes and tell me again.”

He looks me straight in the eyes, not blinking. Blue, not like a serene lake in august, blue like a gun.

“I didn’t sleep with that woman, I don’t even know who she is. Satisfied? Can you see my soul in my eyes.”

“Again, only smile.”

He keeps his stare, not blinking. It’s a bad blue, a hot blue. He smiles.

“I didn’t fucking fuck that fucking woman. You see it? You got some magic power see’s the truth of a man in his eyes?”

“No, you wanna know what I see.”

“I’m tired. I don’t give a shit, you see whatever you wanna see.”

“You know what I see?”

“Jesus Christ. What do you want, you want me to walk away?”

He looks at the ground, down to his right. I remember something in some crime novel I read, some profiler thing. One way is accessing the creative side, the other the logical side, if you look one way you’re making shit up, the other way you’re recalling a memory. I can’t remember which is which and I’m so mad I can’t even figure out whether my right is his right.

“You know what I see?”

He sucks air through his teeth, like he’s sighing, resigning, and he smiles again, almost whispers;

“No, dear, what do you see?”

“A predator baring his teeth. No, I can’t tell from your eyes if you’re lying, I can tell if you’re hunting, if you’re hungry, if you’re ready to eat through the world, consuming everything and leaving nothing but shit. I see a predator baring his teeth.”

His shoulders slump, the air comes out him like a broken nipple on a bike tire.

“I’m going to walk away. I’ll be at the Dublin.”

“I won’t be here when you get back.”

He turns, looks up and under, smiles.

“You leaving the planet? Cause I’m eating the damn thing.”


Last updated June 29, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.