tell me (2013) in Things Previously Written

  • June 27, 2015, 5:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

tell me what to think and do
and how to spend my day
tell me how to wear my clothes
and how to kneel and pray
tell me that you think you know
plenty more than me
on how to work and how to play
and when and where to pee
tell me that you love me
that all you say is real
to eat my greens and my grains
and never pork or veal
tell me that I am in err
in all I think is true
the sky is black and maybe gray
but never gold or blue
tell me how to live my life
and all that’s right is wrong
that I am just an idiot
and that I don’t belong
when you’re done with all you’re words
and all that great advise
to hear a word or two from me
would surely be quite nice
I do not wish to offend
and please don’t have a fit
but here I use my favorite word
and say you’re full of shit


Deleted user June 27, 2015

Love it.

Waiting For Sunrise June 27, 2015

Haha I like this!

It made me think of my teenage self, but really it's relevant at any age when you consider how much influence the media and our peers can still have on what choices are considered "right"..

invisible ink Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ June 27, 2015

Yes we are universally impacted by those who believe they have the authority to preach their beliefs....

colojojo July 03, 2015

<3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.