Flash Thursday Ducks, what the when you don't edit it's all on purpose in Flash Friday

  • June 25, 2015, 6:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“ … Grandma divorced him about a month after he told me that. When he died he was alone in that big fucking house, broke his ankle near the fuse box and they guessed he starved to death. Of course I heard mom on the phone, she thinks he didn’t even try to make it upstairs and …”

“What the fuck…?”

“What what the fuck?”

“I just asked why you needed to borrow a screwdriver.”

“Oh. I’m forty years old and I’ve never owned my own tools. Sorry, a screw is loose, I need a pointy headed screwdriver, please.”

“Dude.”

“Sorry, I forget sometimes half the narrative is in my head. My dad, he died before I was born, suicide by patriotism, that’s what grandpaw told me, I mean, a month before his wife left him, said he was a fuck up and even when he got lucky he found a way of fucking up a gift. He enlisted, married my mom, got her pregnant. Not in that order in the opposite order. Grandpaw was drunk. I mean he was drunk all the time … but, you know, that’s why I don’t have my own screwdriver.”

“How long have you lived in 30b?”

“I dunno, ten years maybe, I got grandfathered in, not rent control, but, sort of …”

“God, no, please. I just … we’ve been neighbors for three years then. If I’d known you were such a whack job …”

“Sorry.”

“No, no, I’m sorry, if I’d known you were such a whack job I would have, I don’t know, had you over for dinner or midnight cap’n crunch or snipe hunting or something.”
“um, I don’t have my own snipe gear … my dad, see …”

“Heh, you are really funny, maybe not ha-ha funny, maybe so, funny just the same. Phillips head.”

“John Withers.”

“Heh, see? The pointy headed screwdriver, it’s a phillips head. I’m Beckett. Chris Beckett, but everyone just calls me Beckett. “

“Ok … Beckett. Thanks. I’ll get it back to you … soon. Clockwise to tighten?”

“Oh, hang on … yes, had to picture it. Lefty lucy righty tidy. “

“Thanks Becklett, I’ll get it back to you and, I don’t know, I have some milk if you have some cap’n crunch.”

“Cool, see ya.”

“Um, yeah, thanks, bye.


Last updated June 25, 2015


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.