Where's that Dang Cleaning Fairy When You Need Her? in Feeling like Sybil

Revised: 06/24/2015 5:26 p.m.

  • June 18, 2015, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I posted a Facebook status today that read, “I’ve decided that today is the day I stop procrastinating. If not today, then tomorrow…next week at the very latest,” .........and now I’m feeling guilty.

I really could make a living sitting on the couch drinking my coffee and trolling Facebook, Twitter, blogs, Pinterest, and all those articles that suck me in like, “Last pictures of celebrities before they died” and “Celebrity Reconstruction Surgeries that Went Wrong”. (yes, I like to revel in the famous people’s misfortune sometimes.)
But… as much as I love wasting spending my time that way, and as good as I am at it, noone pays me to do it, and nothing else in this house gets done. #colormeresponsible

So.. today’s task will be cleaning out the whatusetobeadiningroom room.

Yes.. one of THOSE rooms. Everybody has one, right? A room that should be serving a greater purpose but has become the junk room? No?… Just me? #crapIreallyamaslob

When I got married 5 years ago and moved into my husband’s house, this room was the formal dining room. We never used it for that, but it had all the requisite furniture in it… a dining table and chairs.
With the addition of myself and 3 kids some rearranging had to be done. Our house only has 3 bedrooms, so with 4 kids, only one being a girl, and one/the oldest/his son not wanting to share a room with 2 new step brothers (which I totally get), we had to make a place for my boys. Now, some of you already know that my boys do not live with us full time. They live with their dad during the school year. Maybe in another entry sometime I’ll share the reasons they needed to go to a smaller school than the one we have here and how even though it broke my heart I knew it was the best thing for them… but not today.
So.. this diningroom room, that nobody ever ate in, got delegated to becoming their part time when they are here bedroom. So, we moved out the table and chairs and made a place for them in our large living room area over by the front full window where it looks quite nice actually, and put in 2 twin beds and a dresser and tv. The only trouble was, that as most diningrooms go, it had no doors. So… in the name of privacy, we got thick dark curtains to hang in the 2 entryways to give the room a more bedroom-nobody-can-see-in-here feeling. Trouble with THAT was.. we could still hear the noise from in there, and they could still hear the noise from the living room. So that didn’t work.
To make a long story short… since the boys spent most of their time playing video games in the gameroom, and never went to bed before us anyway, they wound up taking up residence on the couch in the living room and the loveseat in the gameroom when it came time to sleep. Thus.. leaving the diningroom free to just pile our stuff in.
Eventually the beds got sold since noone was using them, and a treadmill got moved in there (b/c I’m such an avid workout enthusiast) as well as an extra sofa I had from my previous before-marriage home (where I actually spent more time when I was suppose to be on the treadmill.) And then the stuff happened.
You know.. Stuff.
Clothes starting piling up on the treadmill.
Rubbermaid tubs got placed in there during the Christmas season after being emptied of their holiday decor. Then more tubs holding all those yearbooks and photo albums I’m going to sort through and put on a shelf someday (I swear I am).
Then stuff brought home from school got dumped in there. And all the things I really have no other place for started finding a home in there. #wrappingpaperandbags #akeyboardpiano #BoxTops (oh the boxtops!!)

----- pics of what I’m up against—
alt text
alt text

Every time I walk past this room, which has been devoid of its curtains now for a couple years, I think to myself, “Self.. (so I’ll know who I’m talking to)…you really need to get in there and do something about that mess.” To which I answer, “Yeh yeh.. I know. I will.” (I can’t NOT answer myself… that would be rude.)
So.. today.. on this day.. since school is out and I’m not obligated to be anywhere else for the next 3 hours, I shall tackle the whatusetobeadiningroom room.

But not until after I eat this hot pocket.


Last updated June 24, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.