Video ads in Site Updates

  • June 23, 2015, 9:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been getting a lot of complaints about video ads. It was never my intention to bombard you with those. Advertising seems to become more aggressive when you let it go unchecked.

Anyway, since the only option I’ve found to disable video ads doesn’t get rid of all of them and they’re playing automatically and causing scrolling problems, I will look at switching them to non-video supported formats. It will require some code change. I would have done it already but life has been a combination of half great, half horrible, and all crazy.

Thanks for your patience, I’ll fix this.


Jeanine June 23, 2015

Thank you for keeping this place running smoothly.

~jillybean~ Jeanine ⋅ June 23, 2015

Agree! It is nice to know you are watching things!

Deleted user June 23, 2015

Thank you for staying on top of things.

Nash June 23, 2015

We could just use a browser with Adblock?

Deleted user Nash ⋅ July 07, 2015

Ditto. I use Firefox with AdBlock Plus and I didn't even know ads existed on this site. :)

Cricket June 23, 2015

Thank you! Also, I have found out that if you hit pause on the video, it usually stops the scrolling...it works for me, anyway!

Mr. Mofo Cricket ⋅ June 23, 2015

This works for me as well. Thanks for the tip.

Deleted user Mr. Mofo ⋅ July 11, 2015

Hey, use Firefox with the AdBlock Plus add-on. I didn't even know this site had ads. :)

Mr. Mofo Deleted user ⋅ July 11, 2015

Thanks very much miss Ice T. However I think I'll just hunt down the ads and kill them...Kill ALL the ads!!!

I don't know if I have told you this, but you are the ONLY person I keep in touch with from our old crew...The ONLY person.

pbrman June 23, 2015

Thank you

crystal butterfly June 23, 2015

I ignore the videos and my mouse has a thing about scrolling anyway so it didn't bother me.

TellTaleHeart June 23, 2015

Thanks! Sorry I couldn't provide you with more details when I first mentioned it. I actually haven't seen them since, so maybe they've cycled out?

Deleted user June 23, 2015

Thanks so much. They were constantly crashing my browser for some reason. I probably just have a shitty computer.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 23, 2015

i wondered what was making my laptop do crazy things... the jumping back to the top of the entry was making it so that i just up and left the house. take care,

Mr. Mofo June 23, 2015

When I was a child, we walked thirty miles uphill in a snowstorm for a chance to play Pong, so I really do not mind these ads so much.

Silverstar46 Mr. Mofo ⋅ June 23, 2015

haha, right?!

Star Maiden June 23, 2015

Thank you! Thought it was just my comp. Glad it was others too!

Kate June 23, 2015

Hate to admit it. I use Ad Block.

Everything Good Rebecca June 23, 2015

I trust you and your intentions. It is certainly good for the site to pay for itself somehow, so I don't complain ab out ads. I can just say no, after all!

patrisha June 23, 2015

Thank you! Just a reminder I would be happy to pay money for no ads at all...?

Deleted user June 23, 2015

Vid ads are by far the most annoying things on the web these days. They are everywhere! Thanks for caring enough to do something about it as most people just don't seem to care.

moneypenny June 23, 2015

I loathe video ads. You, I like.

Leanne 🌈 June 23, 2015

Big thanks as always :)

Rhapsody in Purple June 23, 2015

Thanks for your hard work in keeping the place running smoothly

Spilledperfume June 23, 2015

lessoff June 26, 2015

:) You rock! (thanks for fixing this).

MemoryFails June 26, 2015

You are wonderful. :) I have an ad blocker thingy in my browser, I wonder why people don't just get one of those? I never see any ads, ever. ;)

Timmy™ June 26, 2015

I wasn't going to say anything, cuz this site is free, but thank you.

HisPuzzlePiece June 27, 2015

Although your stance has changed, I would have suggest a "donate" option and so long as costs were covered keep the site ad free with no extra responsibility for you. I'm sure there would be downsides I haven't thought about but I would see that as a somewhat happy middle ground x

Aj_18 September 10, 2015

It is doing it right now on this entry. I didn't have problems until the last couple of days

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.