Palmer Lake Helpers ...Now in the Modern era in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • June 22, 2015, 10:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is beyond my era,as a Locomotive engineer, but also when I troubleshooted. The weather is that. The tunnel type bridge, is at MP 49 near where, I laid my late Labs to rest Bear in 2011 and Cooper in 2014. This 5:00 minutes into the video. This is how harsh I have said, and how the conditions change up here. Manned helpers and at the head end, Palmer Divide, you could experience so many weather changes.

The Helper Link is that , and you key in a radio signal code and the pin lifts and you separate from the train without stopping. Yes “YOU” the helper will go into emergency, but reset the brake valve, and on your way. The grey box is that new helper link. I have worked on a primitive version of this. Code on the radio was 62-62 transmit. beep beep beep and sever from the train. The brake pipe was continuous for the helper via radio, so it mocked the reductions etc. That can be another whole writing. Remember, that I said we stole ETD’s (End of Train Devices, at Big Lift ? Yeah those were helper links that should have been taken off at Alliance, NE.

Enjoy I take no credit in this video.


Last updated June 22, 2015


ChallengerSeven June 22, 2015

Nice video, and I like the captions in 'Grande Gold' [ It looks like 'Grande Gold, anyway... :-) ]. I've been under that Larkspur bridge several times.

Of course, I have questions! S
-The helpers are manned?
-Did steam locomotives travel at the same speed as the diesels?
-It's safer for the crew to walk on the ground vs. using the locomotive catwalks (about 8:30 into the video)?

The helper crew sure didn't waste any time getting back to Big Lift!

Thanks for the video!

Brakeshoe Bob ChallengerSeven ⋅ June 22, 2015

1) Yes the last two are the helpers
2) No I am not a steam man, but the Steam locomotives had tonnage ratings as well.
3) depends on the situation,,,moving vs stopped
4) Hell no, especially if you can see yer heading home to tie up :P

MageB June 22, 2015

Great stuff. Thanks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.