It's been a while.... in QUOTIDIEN

  • June 21, 2015, 1:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How things have changed over the past few months.

I’ll start with Anne-Marie. She came home from rehab and sobriety has taken its place at the forefront of her mind. She claims to have no cravings - no desire to return to what most would classify as ‘experimentation’. This satisfies me.

Since I was last here, she has lived through:

Convulsions
Suicide attempt (not severe)
Increase in migraine
Summer school
Medication adjustments
Addition of psychiatrist
Change in counselors
Sexually molested (breast grabbed, ass grabbed, guy exposed himself ON THE BUS/all different times, and witnessed). He’s 18.

The convulsions were recently determined to be non-epileptic - yet ‘very real’, per neurologist. She is suffering from PTSD - and her stress is manifesting in this manner. Dealing with the school regarding this is becoming increasingly difficult - and I’m working double-time to avoid having them label her in any way. I hate this part of life.

My job:

Was just promoted to Admin1 position - into a different department. Both the client heads of corporate security and the corporate heads of the company I work for expressed their disappointment at my leaving the post that I held as Concierge (and trainer). I’ve received more compliments about my performance in that transition week than I have in the entire 15 months of working there. There was talk of increasing my pay and keeping me where I was. I’ve put a bug in the client’s ear that should they ever need someone to train concierges in the future (I suspect they’re planning on going in house with their security), I would be more than happy to come on board.

As it stands, I no longer wear a uniform or radio. I work 5, 8.5 hour shifts. NO MORE 12 hour shifts! I spend more waking time with my daughter, which has become more imperative.

I am also still working for the Evangelism Center as managing director. I keep trying to retire from there - but he just won’t accept it. Besides....I can use the money.

Personal life:

I’m off of OK Stupid, and dating has taken a serious back seat to all else.


ODSago June 21, 2015

Oh so happy to hear from you and so sorry that life has been as it has but hopeful that this is the beginning of some easier times in your life. Just had a cup of coffee at hand and opened the site to find your entry soon after you'd left it. My very best to you MJ. You are a strong woman indeed.

MJ's Page ODSago ⋅ June 28, 2015

Thanks for being here to welcome me back. This week at work was fantastic!! It just flew by!

ODSago MJ's Page ⋅ June 28, 2015

Such good news. I wish all the best for you.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 21, 2015

glad to hear from/about you and your daughter. sorry she had to go thru so much to get to the point where she's not interested anymore. congratulations on your promotions. take care,

MJ's Page Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 28, 2015

Hey, Gray Tabby! Nice to see your face again, too.

GypsyWynd June 21, 2015

Good to hear from you again. I'm sorry Annemarie has gone through so much (as have you). I've always considered her a remarkable young woman. She takes after her mother, of course.

MJ's Page GypsyWynd ⋅ June 28, 2015

You are very kind, GypsyWynd. Nice to see you again.

Pintador June 21, 2015

Good to hear from you! It's definitely a plus that AM takes her sobriety seriously. Sounds like she has enough on her plate w/o dealing with addiction. May I ask - is the PTSD related to the incidents on the bus, or is it due to losing her dad?

MJ's Page Pintador ⋅ June 21, 2015

The answer is yes to all. The bus guy was the last straw.

whowhatwhere June 21, 2015

Good to see an entry from you! It does sound like things are looking up!

MJ's Page whowhatwhere ⋅ June 28, 2015

They are. Thanks. Need to get to your page to see how much your princess has grown.

Dancing Queen June 21, 2015

So glad to see you pop up on my page, I am so glad to hear all seems to be going in the right direction. Hugs and love to you and Anne-Marie.

MJ's Page Dancing Queen ⋅ June 28, 2015

Finally, heading in the right direction. THanks.

middle age pearl June 22, 2015

So glad to see an update and so sorry about all of the stress. Prayers for you and your daughter. Congrats on the shorter hours and better pay!!

MJ's Page middle age pearl ⋅ June 28, 2015

No victory without trial.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.