Counterrevolution. in Always Recovering, Never Recovered.

  • July 3, 2015, 11:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Violate this verdant scenery, annihilate the greenery, grab the tender shoots and rip, with formidable, forceful fever-fists and eyes as blank as April mist: watch the springtime beat retreat, an anthemic dance of self-defeat.

I’m a firefly fury just scorching the earth, laying waste to that tentative trace of rebirth: an insurgent, defecting, perversely protecting; pursuing that ruin, the cause I know best; undoing the changes I deeply detest. I gaze through glassy arson-eyes at homelands I don’t recognise- those sylvan signs of spring’s reprise- and only yearn to watch it burn, a luscious landscape scorned and spurned; the winter is wildfire in crimson and amber, corroding the contours, consuming the camber: a visceral obliteration, a vehement, violent conflagration.

A treacherous traitorous act of treason- invert the tide, subvert the season- there’s no such thing as evergreen, I’m still in love with a should-have-been: reflections echo dissonance, the whispered-word mellisonance of softly-spoken sibilants; dissentious, contentious- forever contemptuous- the whispers of winter are frostbitten splinters lodged under the skin, that insidious villain speaks hate from within.

That voice can’t be sated, it won’t be abated, it’s never placated: refuses rest unless it’s decimated every curve that spring created. The dizzy high of new lows the only pleasure it knows- dissatisfied, unpacified, every flaw is amplified, magnified and ratified, becoming fact before my eyes: it demands my defection, incites insurrection, commanding correction; ring every change in scarlet pen, score them out and start again.

Springtime sunshine should be effervescent, still the voice is everpresent; I don’t know how to circumvent its strident screams of discontent, it cries distress from deep within: an army of ants crawl unrest through my skin. This should be mellow geniality and blooming personality… yet the visible vitality of vernal-equinox reality is a grotesque physicality, a punch of pure brutality: this is a temporary formality, it can not be normality.

Contradiction, dereliction, open arms to self-infliction, surrendering to sweet addiction- the gory glory of euphoria, a wounded weak-willed warrior: I can’t withstand those outstretched hands; capitulate to all commands. Those winter-bitten fingertips, encircling in a shackling grip- every one’s a perfect fit, to the bracelet of bruises etched into my wrist.

For all that it’s violent, destruction is silent, and figleaves hide backsteps from those I betray, saving their stardust-blind eyes from dismay (yet another perfunctory action-replay…) as I secretly usher the springtime away. Subversive, coercive; that cold, soulless wind, sweeping cinder-siroccos through all it recinds… let the boundaries harden and fence in this garden: a secret-winter hinterland, preserved destroyed by my own hand.


Mr. Mofo July 05, 2015

I am sure that there is a publishing company who would want your work. It can be used by teachers to teach poetry all that stuff...although the imagery of a rage filled firefly flying around and setting things on fire made me wank off, hey take it as a compliment

Waiting For Sunrise Mr. Mofo ⋅ July 05, 2015

Why thank you sir, I most certainly shall take that as a compliment.... it is all too rare to find a man who realises that arsonist tendencies are HAAAWWWWTTT... :p

Hope you had a lovely independence day weekend!

invisible ink July 13, 2015

Always fabulous, never worth only one reading. and you and you arsonist tendencies are HAAAAWWT.....

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ July 15, 2015

Haha thank you ;o)

invisible ink Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ July 15, 2015

You are very welcome...

Park Row Fallout July 27, 2015

Agree 100% that you should publish... or maybe just do readings in academic circles.
which reminds me... been meaning to ask which regional accent you have. I read your words in a number of voices but... I often try to guess what it would be like hearing it in your voice

Waiting For Sunrise Park Row Fallout ⋅ July 28, 2015

I truly appreciate the compliment, honestly... but I would be much too embarrassed to ever consider anything of the sort! I am a shelf-stacker, not a writer, and it would be preposterous to consider inflicting my drivel on academic ears!!

My accent is best described as "Home Counties" I guess... This girl isn't me, but her speech sounds very much like mine...

http://youtu.be/hEgUamJHhh0

LoveSuicide August 10, 2015

Contradiction, dereliction, open arms to self-infliction, surrendering to sweet addiction- the gory glory of euphoria, a wounded weak-willed warrior: I can’t withstand those outstretched hands; capitulate to all commands. Those winter-bitten fingertips, encircling in a shackling grip- every one’s a perfect fit, to the bracelet of bruises etched into my wrist.

Isn't that the rub? That here we are in a wasteland of regret and we look around and what exactly caused it, only to find that the sky has darkened and when only the light that guides is a starlit mirror showing us the truth that I'm a weak-willed warrior and perhaps you a harlot.. and we see the weakness and we feel the bleakness and we wonder why the words are so free and friendly.

When in the end, we find them cutting into us as we so often are to ourselves.

Words so deadly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.