Me in Regular Stuff

  • June 20, 2015, 6:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since I’ve gained a few new readers, I thought I would write some things about myself, bullet style.

· I am 54 years old. Ill be 55 on November 7.

· I live in Virginia. My hometown is about 5 miles south of Washington, D.C. With a few short term exceptions, I have lived here my whole life. In spite of the very high cost of living, there is no where else I’d rather be.

· I live with my only child who is 31, her boyfriend and her three daughters. Her boyfriend is the father of the youngest two girls.

· In 2003, I got very ill. I had multiple blood clots in my lungs and came very close to dying. This was the second time I had blood clots in my lungs. The first time was in 1997. As a result of the clots, and years of smoking, my lungs are permanently damaged and I am on oxygen 24/7. I had to quit working and go on disability.

· My granddaughters mean the world to me. I feel incredibly blessed to be able to watch them grow on a daily basis. I could never have imagined the exquisite joy that these three girls bring to my life. They are, Makayla who just turned 9, Leah who will be 5 next month, and Zoe who is 3 and 1/2.

· I am a recovering alcoholic and drug addict. I have been clean and sober for 15 years.

· I am the youngest in a family of 4. Both my parents, my only brother, and my middle sister, have all passed. Only my oldest sister and I are still kicking. She is 16 years older than me but we have always been close, now more than ever. She lives about 2.5 hours away from me.

· There is no man in my life and hasn’t been for several years. I’m completely fine with that for several reasons. My last relationship breakup completely shattered me. It was very painful and it took me a long time to heal. A long time. Also, between the antidepressants I take and menopause, I have absolutely no sex drive. I know there are measure I could take to try and change that, but I have no interest in it. Last but not least, I can’t imagine being in a relationship at my current weight. See my last entry if you haven’t already, for more information on that! There is no way I could feel sexy at this size.

· I have some of the best friends in the world. I have been friends with three of them for 40+ years. I share 2 grandchildren with my best friend.

· I love reading, writing, some TV, playing games (computer games, card games, board games). I love going to the mountains. I love taking long drives and seeing country towns and country living. I love the water, being in it, on it or near it. Just looking at it is soothing to me.

Okay that’s an even 10.


nothispenelope June 20, 2015

hi.

I've been to VA. well I've been to mt. Vernon. nice place. and d.c.
the longest I've been sober is 4.5 months. wow.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 20, 2015

good morning! nice and cool out there this morning. only going up to the 70s today and then we get rain tomorrow. i'm the oldest of 9 and all of us are still above ground. mother and daddy are gone. love going on long rides in small towns and looking around. love the mountains... not so much the beach. can't swim so water is scary to me. right now i live next door to my daughter and her family. in a few years, we'll be moving to tennessee and living in one house. what kind of books do you read? do you prefer paper books or ebooks? i have both and love both. they each have their pros and cons. take care,

QueenSuzu June 20, 2015

Nice to "know" you. i have 5 GKs and they mean the world to me, each one of them.

Roseoftexas June 20, 2015

I've known you for a very LONG time and feel truly blessed to have you in my life. You are one the best friends[though online] I could ever have. Your Gdaughters are growing up too fast...lol

Have a nice day friend,♥

Anaiss June 20, 2015

I've been reading you for many years and I still enjoy reading your biography updates! BIG congratulations on 15 years sober!

Deleted user June 20, 2015

I learned something in this entry that I've always wondered about. Don't know why I never asked you my question. I guess I just didn't want to overstep my boundaries. But now I know why you are on disability. You were seriously ill with those blood clots in your lungs. I'm so sorry. Also, I wanted to be open about it and share with you that I have no interest in sex either. My desire for sex went away now that I'm post menopausal.

Ferret Mom June 23, 2015

Hooray for best friends. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.