Christmas Dresses in "Creating" a Daily Life

  • Nov. 22, 2013, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did it. Today I finished Julias' Christmas dress! Or at least I think it's going to be her Christmas dress. This has been one long project that has turned out to be kind of bittersweet. It started out as her First Communion dress. But, shortly after my sister got the materials to me Elton was diagnosed with End Stage Renal Failure. He became so sick so fast that this project came to a halt quickly. And there it sat, waiting and waiting for me to pick it back up. Of course, Elton being so sick it didn't get done in time for J-but to wear it for the big day, and then with his passing it just got put on the back burner. Then came the idea of finishing it for Christmas. Since 1st Communion dresses are always white though Beth and I were going to dye it burgundy. Notice I said were. Yeah, were. I did a test dye today with some scrap pieces of fabric. There are five different types in this dress. You have the lace, ribbon, dress itself, netting, and then the lining. I was really worried about the lace not taking the dye as it has sort of a shimmer to part of it. Well, the lace took it fine, it's the dress itself that won't take the color. SH*T So now what to do? All of this work and we have a white dress that looks very much like a 1st Communion dress. I'm trying to figure out what to do to it. Contemplating a second dye bath on the sample but I'm not sure that will do much of anything for it. There's a tie in the back and I had thought of giving it a burgundy sash but the way it's made that won't work. Hmmm, I have got to get these creative juices flowing. These is just so much time and effort into this thing not to mention the money my sister put in to the materials. Ah well, it's late. Maybe something will come to me overnight. For now it's on to the next project, little Madisons Christmas dress.


Deleted user November 22, 2013

Maybe some kind of beading or additional lace could be added. I'd think it wouldn't take a lot to dress it up for Christmas. Or maybe accessories like tights or hair ribbons or whatnot in christmas colors would complete the ensemble.

middle age pearl November 24, 2013

Oh how beautiful it sounds. Would a little vest or jacket in green, blue, gold, red, silver and a matching hair bow do it? Bet the hair bow alone, would make it Christmas attire alone. You are so talented I am bettin you can whip up a wrap/shawl, vest, or jacket to make it fit the occasion!

FRIDAY'S CHILD January 21, 2014

I found you!!! I love finding my OD people. Yaaay!!! I have a feeling I won't be writing at OD much anymore. It seems to be down more than it's up and I'm beginning to learn Prosebox a bit better...

stargazing February 13, 2014

Whatever happened to this dress?

Tazmo January 23, 2015

You are so talented

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.