working on it in keeping it postive

  • June 13, 2015, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I started to learn Spanish in the 9th grade. There were various groups of people in the neighborhood from the Caribbean - Puerto Ricans, Cubans and people from the Dominican Republic, Dominicans. The Cubans and Dominicans arrived due to political unrest in their countries. I was curious… I wanted to know what people were saying.

I did VERY well in the classes in both high school and college. AND all the jobs I had as an adult were due to my bi-lingual ability. At Social Security, I learned a WHOLE new vocabulary. This was also true when I taught physics and earth science. Now at the courts I have more new words to learn - job specific.

Although I can carry on a conversation on various topics, reading in Spanish has never been something I’ve chosen to do. Over the years, I’ve picked up various magazines - GeoMundo; Muy Interesante. Through the pictures, blurbs and short articles, I learned about science and anthropology around the world by reading these magazines. Lately, I’ve been reading People in Espanol having received a subscription (when I am done I leave it for the regular interpreter at my job).

Lately I’ve decided to try books. I read for pleasure and even though I’ve spoken Spanish for most of my life, reading is still NOT pleasurable. I’m pushing through it and find it’s getting easier.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.