Death by Whole30? in Magical Realism

  • June 11, 2015, 7:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sooo, Tuesday night, 4 weeks into eating completely clean - no sugar, no booze, no nothing…I get hit with massive food poisoning and a full-body rash complete with giant hives.

I have absolutely no idea what caused this. Ate at home during the day, hardboiled eggs, fruit (strawberries, blueberries, apple, and pear), tuna cup, green tea. Went to gym, did HIIT class, then vinyasa yoga class, showered, then went to Hu Kitchen with A and ate chicken and sweet potatoes.

All the things I ate during the day I have had a zillion times before, and nothing cooked. We eat at Hu Kitchen at least once every couple weeks, and A had the exact same meal as me, we even ate parts of each other’s meals, and he was completely fine. But by 10pm I was puking my guts out, and worse, sweating, and covered with huge hives. A sat up with me and we watched most of the season of Allegiance (pretty good!) in between watching everything I’d eaten the past 36 hours come back out.

Finally fell asleep around 4am, woke up at 8am, had a half a gatorade. Did a minimum of work while lying in bed, drank the other half of the gatorade, and took a shower around 5pm. Today I finally feel a bit better but am now terrified to ingest anything but vitamin water and oreos.


Last updated June 11, 2015


rubix cube June 11, 2015

I'd be suspicious of the "tuna cup." The heck is that?

Satine rubix cube ⋅ June 11, 2015

Good point! I eat these at least every other day and have never had a problem, but the only food poisoning with an accompanying rash I could find is scombroid poisoning which IS caused by fish. It said symptoms usually occur 30 - 60 minutes afterwards, and nothing happened until about 6 hours after I ate the tuna so I'm still not sure.

http://chickenofthesea.com/products/tuna/chunk-white-tuna-to-go-cups

kmh. June 11, 2015

Oh no :( You poor thing! I break out in hives from strawberries, but not with the sickness like that!

Satine kmh. ⋅ June 11, 2015

This was another suspect for me! I never had a problem with strawberries before but the other day I dropped one on my neck somehow and it gave me a rash. I only had a few though, and again, got sick several hours after eating them, so I still don't know.

kmh. Satine ⋅ June 11, 2015

I never had problems with them for most of my life until I was 22. The last 5 years I haven't been able to eat strawberries without breaking out in hives :( I also have the same problem with fresh pineapple (but not tinned) and also some red wine, which makes me even more sad!

Jigger June 11, 2015

Oh, that's awful! Glad you're better, but I'd stay suspicious, too. Looking at the note above, can you suddenly, like, flip a switch on a strawberry allergy?

Deleted user June 11, 2015

Oh dear. First of all, Whole30? Way to go! What was the hardest part, and are you glad you did it? (Why did you do it?) Another diary friend is doing it too. I did it a couple years ago.
Hope you're feeling better by now!

Satine Deleted user ⋅ June 11, 2015

I did it because I was eating too many Oreos. It was mostly boring/annoying versus difficult/tough, until the food poisoning. I have a weird feeling it caused the food poisoning somehow! I would not do whole30 again. I did the Dr. Morrison cleanse a couple of years ago and felt great, it put me off sugar for like a year and a half, I would and may do that again.

Red June 11, 2015

Oof, that blows. And who can even tell! People get listeria from fucking ICE CREAM for chrissakes. Sad trombone.

Deleted user June 11, 2015

I was thinking about an allergy which you can develop at any time to things you have eaten your whole life - that is what the hives are about...the puking does sound like food poisoning. You poor thing, I hope you are feeling better now.

Deleted user June 11, 2015

woooo team oreos!

AlmostGenuine June 11, 2015

Lack of sugar, booze, and other unclean things? Your body is tired of this whole30 business and rebelling.

Feel better soon!

Athena June 12, 2015

oh man! that sounds horrible! i wish you'd been journaling the whole 30 thing. i want to know more about your experience.

Complicated Disaster June 12, 2015

Weird! Hope you're ok now! Xx

hot-lips June 12, 2015

Oh poor you! I've had food poisoning from the most random thing once - at a canteen salad bar. Yours could've been anything you ate though, even if you've had it a hundred times before. It could be bacteria, or a part of something wasn't cooked/washed properly and your body just didn't react well. Hope you're feeling better. It's best to stick to plain foods - rice, pasta, toast. Don't eat hummous like I once did, only to throw it back up. lol xx

Jeanine June 12, 2015

I got awful food poisoning from a spoiled egg once. Could it have been the hard boiled egg you ate in the morning? It took about 8 hours to get through my system enough to completely ruin me for 24 hours.

dickson. June 12, 2015

Oh God :( the worst!

Bluesea June 12, 2015

The hives makes me think it was an allergic reaction as opposed to bad food. And unfortunately food allergies can happen spontaneously. Hope you are feeling better today!

Calicakes June 12, 2015

could be the fruit. I had wicked food poising from cantelope one time. Oh it was horrible.

Manhattan June 12, 2015

It was the egg! I love all the guessing. It's like Cleudo.

noooncy. June 12, 2015

I was thinking of doing while30 but this doesn't sound like fun. Good to know you're feeling better!

echopod June 12, 2015

I get rashes and food poisoning symtoms for no reason all the time. When you're detoxing or changing ANYTHING, it's easy to be affected by bacteria you'd normally fight off without even knowing it. Hives are an inflammatory response. Strawberries can be big offenders,

Andel June 13, 2015

Oh the misery! Here's hoping it was a weird one-off thing. (I endorse oreos, though.)

nightborn June 14, 2015

So awful, you poor thing. By now I hope you're fully recovered and have enjoyed a drink or three to reward yourself! Xoxo

Deleted user June 15, 2015

These well-wishes probably come too late considering the date of your entry, but I still truly hope you're feeling better!

Kate June 16, 2015

Well that is just horrible. I hope you have recovered. I know you can develop allergies later in life. Also, depending on how full your stomach is. I once had a horrible reaction to eating my weight in cherry tomatos--broke out in hives all over. Not allergic, just an overdose. Weird.

Every time I have ever gotten food-poisoning, I was able to identify the culprit by thinking about eating each thing I had eaten the day before. The one that made my gag to consider it was usually the offender.

Really hope you are fully recovered!

dancerd June 18, 2015

I hope you feel better!!! And I would call it a successful completion of Whole30 even if you made it 29 out of 30 days!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.