PICU in Friends With the Benedicts

  • June 11, 2015, 5:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So my Mom had to go to the Hospital early this morning. They admitted her, because after doing bloodwork, which they did NOT do at her previous appt. with her Dr., they found that she had an almost zero white blood cell count and a fever, with infection in her throat. She can barely swallow and everything gets stuck in her throat and won’t go down. She had it stretched in a procedure two days ago, but so far it has just seemed to anger it further. They put her in the PICU, which is one step down from ICU, and she will most likely go into a regular room tomorrow. They are giving her IV pain meds in her port, since she couldn’t take hers orally at home and was starting to have a big problem with controlling her pain. They also put a Fentanyl patch on her and are giving her liquid morphine. So they are keeping her comfortable and giving her antibiotics in a sterile environment while trying to get her fever down. Apparently, if you get a fever while your white blood count is that low, it is called a Neutropenic fever and can be very bad, even fatal. That’s why they are taking it so seriously. Hers isn’t too high, it was 101.9 when I left tonight, but that was actually up from when she was admitted. So I dunno. She will be fine, they just have to get the infection gone. I know she doesn’t wanna do the last round of this first drug in her chemo. Lots of people don’t, they can’t handle it. It’s the worst one, and the last one is also the worst treatment. So we will see what comes. The oncologist that saw her in the hospital is awesome. Everyone doesn’t like her current one, and ideas were thrown around that maybe this doc could be her doc instead. But it takes a lot of stuff to switch right in the middle of your treatment and I don’t know what all it would mess up, etc. So also. we will see on that.

My hair is still falling out, I think from stress. It has thinned out a lot. But my new meds are starting to work and I am starting to feel better mentally. I am on a new antidepressant, Effexor, and also a new diabetes drug to go along with the Metformin, Onglyza. My sugar was all the way down to 143!! I have never seen it so low when I have tested! I can’t wait to go back to the doc and let her know that this is working and that we can switch me to the drug that is the Metformin and the new one combined in one pill. That’ll be nice! Well, I think I shall go and see what all you guys are up to! I hope everyone is well. Oh, and the kittens are all at my Mom’s now, along with their Mommy, so that is nice as well. We were happy to get our house back to normal, as Frankie the terror had been attacking everyone and not allowing them into the living room. It was mayhem! lol She is doing a lot better at my Mom’s, and is acting like she never even left. :) OK, time to read/note! Bye!

Steph


Last updated June 11, 2015


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.