The Kane County Cougars Batavia, Illinois 1995 in Misc. Thoughts opinions, the whole trash can.

  • June 11, 2015, 11:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A reader and I have talked about Minor league baseball. I grew up with the Denver Bears. This was way before the Colorado Rockies got MLB into town. The Iowa Oaks and the Omaha Royals were a couple of teams I remember.

I was still working the “power desk” for the Santa Fe. The mother-in-laws would visit, and that was a help, when the wife was out of town an I was working the night rotation. We had a young woman, who would stay over, if we got in a pinch.

My late mother came for a visit, about 2 days before my rotation ended. The wife picked her up, at O hare Airport. She had to go on business, the next day. I told my mom, there is a baseball game, in Batavia. The Kane County Cougars, the minor minor league for the Florida Marlins. I’ll grab a nap, and I’m off for the next three days, we’ll go out there.

It is early June, kids are just out of school for the year. The “edict” was where ya at and with who. They were told be here by 600 pm, we’re going to the baseball game. This was well received, and brats, dogs, hamburgers, and fries, what’s not to like as a kid. Soda Pop, Beer, life is good.

Batavia, Il Kane County:

In the car, and away we go. Batavia from Naperville is about 30 to 40 minutes away. We arrive at the ballpark. It is filling up quite fast, and we have no tickets.
I get to the window and say, “What do you have available? Need two adult and two children”. “I have four together behind the cage at home plate, five rows up.” “How much for those?” “$28.00” “Apiece”? “NO Total $28.00” “I’ll take it”.

The seats are great. I get everyone settled in. The I am hungry and I want this starts. I kinda lay down the law. “Your Grandma n me are here to enjoy this ballgame. If you want to wander, THREE RULES. 1) Check in every inning. 2) Here is 7.50 for your dinner, that’s a burger or dog and a pop. 3) Don’t get into trouble, and be respectful. Yes all rules were obeyed.

I go and get two brats with kraut, and two Linenkugels draft lager for me and grandma. The game is, well minor ball and fun. Warm and not oppressive, darkness is starting to come and the park is illuminated. The, then, Chicago & Northwestern, is right next door. All Three mains into and out of Chicago. The commuter rush is over. There are some trains still operating. They are now getting freights and coal loads and empties, in and out of Proviso Yard.

There is “entertainment” between the 4th, 6th, 7th, and 8th innings. Its goofy stuff and the typical stunts. The spin around a bat on home plate and try to run to first base. The get into this hamster cage and try to run the bases. The Top “act” was the Horse race.

The horse race was really bad, but it was so off base it was fun to watch. Your tickets were randomly printed with a color strip on the back. There were 6 horses, RED, GREEN, YELLOW, BLUE, ORANGE, and BLACK. These were horse head cut-outs of Plywood on a stick . They were behind the outfield fence. The trumpet sounded and the horse heads bobbed up and down. they circled, to give the appearance of a “race”. A banner, through out the race announcers drone, popped up and a horse head broke the ribbon. LOL … there was your winner.

Your lucky ticket, a small beer and a dog for a dollar, next visit to the ballpark. Your Kane County Cougars lost that night. But for me I had a good time. My late mother always remarked about that, that was the best time she had at a ball game.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.