22 weeks. That's what's up. in Humanity

  • June 8, 2015, 10:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How far along? 22 weeks

How big is baby? Close to 11 inches and almost 1 pound (about the size of a spaghetti squash)

Total weight gain/loss: Still around 119/120; which is about net 13/14 lbs gained (!!) I’m on track to gain at least 1 pound per week until this pregnancy is over, which means I will likely gain around 32+ pounds overall. For comparison purposes, I gained about 38 lbs with Joaquin, but he was 2 weeks early.. so I may gain more than that (YIKES)

Maternity clothes? Yep, and finding a bit of a groove lately. I’m still ‘all belly’ but I’m guessing I’m going to start puffing up a bit in other places soon.

Sleep: Pretty good, no complaints here. Weird dreams and such, but sleeping pretty well. (ENJOYING it, too)

Best moment this week: Just feeling my little girl moving and grooving inside me. Joaquin even got to ‘feel’ her move and I’m not sure how much he truly comprehends that there is A HUMAN BEING in there, but he was so cute & sweet about it. We got a few books on getting a new sister / being a big brother and watched the Daniel Tiger episode about getting ready for a new baby. He’s acting like he’s really excited, and I don’t want to get overly optimistic but I DO think he’s really going to enjoy being a big brother.

We also signed him up for gymnastics after attending a free trial class last weekend. He will start going every Saturday at noon, but won’t start until July 11th because he has a birthday party to attend EVERY Saturday this month, and then 4th of July… BUT he does get to go to ‘open gym’ every Monday and Tuesday night which is SO AWESOME. I almost think it’s better because it’s totally unstructured and he can do whatever he wants vs. having circle time and structure in the Saturday class. He LOVES learning how to tumble, and he’s really good at controlling his body and balancing. It’s pretty awesome for all of us involved :)

ALSO my girlfriends surprised me with a little “sprinkle” yesterday which is a small version of a baby shower. We all got together with our families and kids for a summer BBQ and they all showed up with gifts for the baby girl. So sweet and lovely. Nothing big, just some cute clothes, books, dolls, etc. Loved it so much! ALSO: CUPCAKES. Yummy ones.

Worst moment this week: Just some dumb hormone-related spats with Aaron, and even a weird work-related moment with Liana. I’m SO sensitive and emotional lately. Such a spaz.

Movement: I’m starting to notice her patterns and rhythms more and more. I’m feeling so much more connected to her as a result.

Food Cravings: ALL THE SWEETS. I’m really struggling here. I need an intervention.

Food Aversions: None!

Gender: Sweet baby girl.

Labor Signs: Nope.

Pregnancy Symptoms: More intense sciatica when I walk a lot. My belly also hurts when I try to run / walk so I switched it up and did more elliptical and stationary bike this weekend. Other than a real swollen belly, no real symptoms to report.

Belly Button in or out? In-ish....protruding a bit more each day.

What I miss: Running without pain.

What I am looking forward to: Aaron’s sister’s graduation from Grad School in Santa Barbara this Friday.

Upcoming appointments/events:
- Major ultrasound ~ June 19th
- More birthday parties ( Curtis, Kenzie, Micah)
- Travel to Seattle or Boston?? Not sure what is happening with this project??
- Travel to SF?

Milestones (BabyCenter):
Your baby is starting to look like a miniature newborn. Her lips, eyelids, and eyebrows are becoming more distinct, and she’s even developing tiny tooth buds beneath her gums. Her eyes have formed, but her irises (the colored part of the eye) still lack pigment. If you could see inside your womb, you’d be able to spot the fine hair (lanugo) that covers her body and the deep wrinkles on her skin, which she’ll sport until she adds a padding of fat to fill them in. Inside her belly, her pancreas — essential for the production of some important hormones — is developing steadily.

Current favorite GIRL names: Aurion Rose. <3 But someone brought up Aureliana and I also LOVE it. Aaron’s not sold on it though.

Some recent pics:

CicLAvia in Pasadena last weekend:
Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Open gym at My Gym Tuesday night (loves him some balance beam!)
Check out that BELLY!!!
Untitled

Birthday party this past weekend. Guess which kid is mine!?
Untitled

BBQ with my besties yesterday (our collection of kids; 7 between the 5 of us)
Untitled

Cupcake time!
Untitled

Tried out some underwear (vs. pull-ups) this weekend. It was not a 100% success, so we are going to stay in pull-ups for the week and try again next weekend. He’s staying mostly dry all day in pull-ups, so we are close. Just not quite there.
Untitled


Last updated June 08, 2015


TrippyNina June 08, 2015

LOVE the kid picture with your little man being super cute as Spiderman. :)
You have the cutest littl' belly bump!

Deleted user June 09, 2015

oh my goodness! his little helmet is adorable!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.