Reading in clusters in book reviews

  • June 8, 2015, 10:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have realized lately that I prefer reading various books - fiction/non-fiction - about the same topic. I’ve been reading a lot recently about the history of Ireland - mostly Morgan Llywelyn, but some other authors as well.

Now I started to read London - it’s a TOME. History of the city with a novel woven through it. Interesting to read from another perspective.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 08, 2015

i love historical fiction. i read in clusters as well. 5 or 6 books of the same genre til i get tired of it and switch to some other genre for a while. and then on and on til i make full circle. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 08, 2015

It's not as much genre as topic. Lately, yes, a lot of historical fiction. Recently I was on a China kick - historical fiction, mysteries, romances, all having a sense of history and culture about them.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ June 08, 2015

vampires, men in kilts.... good topics. did you read the pearl s. buck's good earth trilogy? that was a good trilogy. i really enjoyed it. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 09, 2015

I remember starting A Good Earth many years ago. I couldn't get into it. Maybe I was too young. I can try it again, for sure.
Lately I've been reading the history of England - mostly in novel form. I've read about Jewish history and culture also. I like the different points of view.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ June 09, 2015

i love historical novels about old england. the ins and outs of the royalty fascinates me. i also love scottish historical fiction... men in kilts!!! take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 09, 2015

You'd have loved what I saw a week or so ago - a man, short hair, FULL beard, wearing an undershirt, suspenders and a kilt of camouflage fabric - pleats and all. Socks and books finished off the outfit. I didn't ask about what he wore underneath.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ June 09, 2015

camo kilt? oh, my goodness! dont' think i would ask either. been watching outlander on starz and i'm getting my fill of men in kilts! goodlooking men! they've been asked what they wear under the kilts and they 'skirt' around the subject. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ June 09, 2015

I don't have Starz, but I read the first 6 Outlander books in a three week marathon. Then it took so long for the next one to come out, that I lost momentum. Eventually I'll gather the next three (I have) together and read through them. I was supposed to go on an Outlander themed tour of Scotland many years ago, but after I'd bought my airline ticket, the tour company went out of business. I am still bitter.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ June 09, 2015

yep, bitter... that's how i'd feel. i started rereading the books. i have the last one but, haven't read far enough in the series again to read it. take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.