From Antarctica to the Arctic Circle in Magical Realism

  • June 24, 2015, 6:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After Antarctica I had one night in Buenos Aires, then a red-eye the next day back to JFK. From there I had a few hours at home before I was slated to begin another journey to compete at the first world iceswimming championships above the Arctic Circle in Murmansk, Russia. Unfortunately, I was sick as a dog and seriously wondering if I’d be able to make the trip back to the airport, much less travel another 24 hours and swim a kilometer at zero degrees and represent the USA appropriately.

I decided to at least give it a try. A helped me repack and get my bags into a cab. I slept the whole way to Moscow and felt a bit better for the connection to St. Petersburg and then on to Murmansk. My assigned Translator/Guide, Natasha, met me at the airport and brought me to the host hotel. It was really nice, brand new, and beautiful Russian ladies in native costumes met us in the lobby with a display of decorative challah bread.

They whisked me through check-in, I dropped off my bags in the room and I met Natasha back down in the lobby to get me registered. Registration was frustrating, as usual, but we got it done and then sat in for the briefing. It went until about 9pm and I went to bed around 11pm.

alt text

The start the next morning wasn’t too early - we got outfitted and went outside for the opening ceremony, which was really nice. Weather was sunny with snow flurries and air temperature about -5 degrees. After the ceremony I went in for medical, and passed the check and the EKG. (I always get nervous, no matter how many times I have this done.) There were heats all day, I was in the final and fastest women’s heat, so had tons of time to get nervous. I wasn’t feeling amazing, but I felt all right other than being completely freaked out at the idea of swimming more than twice the distance I’d done in ice. I told myself I just needed to swim my own swim and not try and race it. Before long it was time and they paraded us out. They called our names, we waved to the bleachers, then stripped down and got into the water. The cold hit me like a punch in the chest:

alt text

The horn sounded for the start and we were off. I felt good in the water and kept it smooth and strong. There was a bit of disturbance a few minutes into the race when one of the Russian girls became distressed and had to be rescued, but we all kept going. I kept running my mental checks making sure I was okay, and the laps kept ticking by.

alt text

The time passed quickly and I was thankful to be feeling good throughout. Finally I had completed the 40 laps and it was time to get out. I climbed up the ladder where my team had my shoes ready for me. They pulled my goggles off, threw a towel and my coat on me, and walked me to medical. I was nervous I’d have trouble walking, but I was fine. Just in case, two strapping Russian sailors stayed close by my side…not bad!

alt text

They checked me out quickly, then I put my coat on and walked up to the main building. Went into the recovery room where lovely Russian ladies and two young tattooed men covered me with hot towels until I re-warmed. Then they took me into the sauna where I hung out with the rest of the ladies and chatted until we were warm again. The race and recovery were done. I made it!

In the evening there was a completely insane awards ceremony. A 20 minute fireworks display, tons of speeches, and live music. I managed not to fall during the procession, which was excellent. After that we went indoors and had another ceremony where we got our medals, certificates, and flowers for the ladies.

Who’s the world’s happiest female iceswimmer aged 35 - 39?!? THIS GAL:

alt text

The rest of the night was a progression of vodka toasts, loads of food, and celebration into the night. The next day were short distances for the Russian National Championships, I did all the races but didn’t win any medals. After the competition we had an excursion to the Russian Icebreaker ship Lenin, which was cool but I was a walking zombie for most of the tour. We had nothing official scheduled so I went to sleep right after that. I needed it!

The next and final day was more heats of short distances, and the 450 meter event. I remember being so stressed for this in Siberia, but after the 1k, 450m seemed relatively short. It was the last event, I won my age group again and then it was time for celebration again. Another wild awards ceremony, with more traditional songs, dance performances by dancers dressed as sailors, and a huge podium. OF COURSE I tripped on the stage on the way up to the podium.

alt text

After the ceremony there was another party, with oodles of food, tons of alcohol, and even some dancing. After the party was the after party, we went to a club in Murmansk - on the walk there we found a street sign for the event so of course I had to pose with it.

Happy girl!
alt text

Stayed out nice and late and barely made it to repack and head out for the airport the next day. Said goodbye to Natasha and continued on with Olga, Craig, Wyatt, and friends. I parted ways with the last group in Moscow, and then continued home.

I’m not given to much self-reflection, but on flight home I marveled at how much my life has changed this past year. Some terrible, but so much good too. I never thought I’d have the opportunity to travel the world, representing the US in this crazy burgeoning sport of ours. I never thought I’d make friends all over the world or be a world champion in anything. I never thought I’d swim in Antarctica and above the Arctic Circle in the same week. Before long I was home in NYC again, another grand adventure in the bag.


Last updated June 24, 2015


Kate June 24, 2015

You are a Rock Star. I love how well they take care of you. And Russian Sailors? Yes please.

Red June 24, 2015

You look super happy in that photo with the flag! Way to go, lady.

Leslie Bruce June 24, 2015

Awesome! I love your entries.

Deleted user June 24, 2015

i feel all proud of you, like you're my kid! lol. awesome job.

Deleted user June 24, 2015

Congratulations!! What an incredible achievement! Thank you so much for sharing with us. :)

LeftisRight June 24, 2015

Wow congratulations!! So amazing!! You rock!

Bella Jess June 25, 2015

How cool of a life you live! Your dad is shining bright from above!!

Athena June 25, 2015

if i didn't know you as a person IRL, i would not even believe you! how amazing this all is!

nightborn June 25, 2015

All these experiences, so memorable and wonderful. You are kicking some serious butt, lady! :)

Complicated Disaster June 25, 2015

Congratulations! You just go from strength to strength! xx

sarahbaby. June 25, 2015

Holy shit -- sooooo cool!

pandora June 25, 2015

So neat about visiting Antarctica and The Arctic within a week--wow. The closest I've been was Iqaluit--above the tree line but below the circle. Such a different life--so interesting! Was it almost 24 hours sunlight while you were there?

~Mrs. O~ June 25, 2015

Congratulations! What an amazing accomplishment, glad you had some fun too. You inspire me so much!

dickson. June 25, 2015

Blowing my mind, as per usual. Congratulations on being the best EVER IN LIFE FOREVER.

greyponygirl June 25, 2015

You're amazing! Love this, love reading about your adventures x

Jeanine June 25, 2015

Simply put, you amaze me! Great work!

kmh. June 25, 2015

Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!

rubix cube June 29, 2015

So much WOW. Amazing, congrats on all your accomplishments.

.bob June 29, 2015

so very cool, well done as always! and your hair is looking so good...no more bangs though? I thought they were very chic.

Satine .bob ⋅ June 29, 2015

Ahh, the bangs require blowdrying...all of these snaps were taken after swimming/airdrying so they're just pushed back. They are too hot for summer so haven't been wearing them down lately, not sure if I'll go back to them in the fall or not.

Miso Honey June 29, 2015

This is so fucking awesome. Congrats! I love these entries, glad to see all your hard work paying off!
:)

Jigger June 30, 2015

I absolutely love reading your entries. I showed your Antarctica pictures to my dad and MFK--they seemed confused and troubled as to WHY anyone would do that on purpose. I could not explain, but I get such a rush just knowing there are people out there who swim like you do!

Bluesea July 05, 2015

You continue to amaze me. I can't believe you had the willpower to even enter that water.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.