Swimming in Antarctica in Magical Realism

  • June 2, 2015, 12:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The zodiac ride from the mainland to the ship seemed to take forever. We ran up the gangway, stripped off our waterproof gear, and jumped in the shower. Our suite had the only bathtub on the ship and we took full advantage. Bliss bliss bliss utter bliss. Once the water got cold for the second time, we drained the tub and reluctantly got out. I blowdried and put on a fun fringe-y cocktail dress, just because. We had a celebratory drink at the upstairs bar, spirits poured over Antarctic ice and A ordered us a special bottle of champagne for dinner. (On a Russian boat, you don’t clink glasses as it’s considered bad luck, so you just wrap your hand around the glass and touch hands to cheers.)

Had a very nice “gala” dinner on the ship, then headed to the bar for more wine and cocktails. For me the pressure was finally off so I could relax and actually enjoy socializing and celebrating. We had a great group of American, Swiss, and Australian friends around. (Notice how somehow now they are now “friends” rather than creepy strangers I am forced to chat with? But that’s how it was, truly. I am an inveterate introvert but somehow getting in the arena and sweating with someone forms a bond.) We sang, we danced, we went to sleep at a fairly reasonable hour.

The next day I was excited because we were finally getting to go SWIMMING! After days of being surrounded by all this fantastic water, I was finally able to get in it. But first, we had a hike. There were a couple options for the morning, we picked to hiking around Paradise Bay, I didn’t want to get too tired before the swim, but we ended up watching penguins and seals for a while, and then hiking up a big hill.

alt text

The best part of the hike was sliding down…so much fun. You just kind of lay on your butt/back, tried to keep your feed up and wheeeeee!

Check it out:
alt text

We only had time enough for one hike up/slide down before it was time to get in that beautiful water. Most folks were just doing a quick dip/polar plunge, but I’d shown the expedition director photos of some of my swims and she gave me permission to do a longer swim. People went in quickly, one by one, screaming, and I just kind of stood on the rocks, staring at the water like a loon. Finally it was my turn!

I walked in, the water and air were both around 0 degrees Celsius (32 Fahrenheit, but in temperatures under 50F/10C I always think in Celsius.):
alt text

Rocks were slippery and I was eager to start swimming so as soon as it was deep enough, I did a dive in:
alt text

Poof!
alt text

I swam out to the zodiac with one of the guides on it, then did a few laps around one of the bigger ice chunks (mini-icebergs?)
alt text

The water felt incredible, so clear and cold - when it’s like this I always have a feeling I am swimming in liquid silver or mercury or something. Beautiful and deadly.
alt text

These are the moments I live for though. Just me and the water, in the midst of such formidable beauty:
alt text

I didn’t want to get out, but I didn’t want to push it and make the team regret letting me swim, so I came out after only about ten minutes.

alt text

Got dressed quickly, balancing on the rocks, and returned to the big ship via zodiac, wishing I could swim there instead. We got washed and dressed and went to dinner where somehow I’d become an instant celebrity on the ship. I found it really bizarre that on this boat full of amazing runners, they were so impressed by 10 minutes of ice swimming. But it felt good, so we basked in it for the evening.

The next morning we went out for our last excursion, to Wilhelmina Bay. The nickname is WHALEhelmina Bay, and it definitely lived up to its name! On the zodiac we kept pulling up to pods of sleeping whales and would watch/listen as they breathed and breached periodically. The sounds of sleeping whales…defies words. Just the most peaceful and lovely thing I have ever heard.

alt text

It was amazing how close we were to these huge creatures, they could have easily tipped the boats over at any time
alt text

We also saw so many amazing ice formations. Photos don’t capture it, by half:
alt text

So lovely. Before long the sun was going down so we had to head back to the ship. Returned our gear to the mud room for the last time and took one last photo of Antarctica before the ship departed that night.

alt text

The next few days were filled with partying, soaking up views of the open ocean, and going through the Beagle Channel/Drake Passage one last time. The last night was an epic one, and we somehow slept through the wake-up call, woke up naked on top of a pile of our sheets, managed to get washed and dressed and off the boat just in time to head back to Ushuaia. We had a few hours to kill before heading back to Buenos Aires, so we had breakfast and coffee with everyone, said our goodbyes, and took a nice long walk to fill our lungs with that fresh Patagonia air.

When we got on the plane bound for Buenos Aires, our Antarctica trip was done but I still had a journey to the other side of the planet ahead of me.

alt text


Last updated June 02, 2015


Leslie Bruce June 02, 2015

Wow, that looks really amazing. It's so funny that the runners were impressed with your swim! I would love to take a trip up there sometime and listen to the whales.

Deleted user June 02, 2015

only 10 minutes? i would be dead.

Kate June 02, 2015

Jesus, your life. So amazing. Really. Also, so glad you document!

nowthat'salady June 02, 2015

I have no words for this one.

Red June 02, 2015

So, so amazing!

dickson. June 02, 2015

This is the dream right here. Minus the swimming, haha. But you are amazing. I love everything ever about this. Stunning. Absolutely stunning.

BlueEyedDevil June 02, 2015

WOW... just WOW.

nightborn June 02, 2015

I'm loving all these incredible adventures, babe. I hope you're feeling ok.

LotusButterfly June 02, 2015

I cannot believe this, I love your entries. I love how your experiences and words and just how u fill your life with LIFE... it make me smile. <3

Jigger June 02, 2015

Oh my God, these pictures make me want to cry. I must go.

dreamer71 June 02, 2015

Wow, all of it! That photo of you diving in the water is pretty awesome.

Deleted user June 02, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share all this... unbelievable.

Calicakes June 02, 2015

I cant even get into 75F degree water.

kmh. June 02, 2015

What an amazing adventure! Those photos of the whales blow my mind!!!!

Caty Shark June 02, 2015

Favourite entry ever, because of the pictures. Amazing. Really really.

Athena June 03, 2015

WOW! I don't even know where to start! It looks soooo cold and soooo amazing! That whale tale! You! All of it! What a life you have!

pandora June 03, 2015

I want to hear whales sleeping now.

hot-lips June 03, 2015

I haven't read you in FOREVER! You never show up in my bookmarks, need to weed out the ones who spam 101 times a day. lol Amazing photos, I don't know how you do it - the swimming in freezing, ice water! I didn't know about that Russian tradition re the glasses, and I am half Russian! lol

Satine hot-lips ⋅ June 03, 2015

Hi! I think the no clinking is just on Russian boats - but ice swimming is very Russian! :) Great to hear from you. xx

Jeanine June 03, 2015

What a stunning trip. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Complicated Disaster June 03, 2015

Beautiful. Just beautiful! xx

sarahbaby. June 03, 2015

Your description of the water is so evocative. You "took me there"!

alisvolatpropriis June 05, 2015

unbelievable!

dancerd June 18, 2015

Absolutely breathtaking photos especially with the whales. I love that you embrace life and the world!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.