Repetition in Thoughts On...

  • May 30, 2015, 9:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you are a “lister” you might already know abou the #listersgottalist challenge/project/clusterfuck going on. June is month three of this particular listing challenge. The original #30lists is amazing! It is $10 per round and there are usually two rounds per year, March & September. They did have a December 2014 round as well and that was awesome. The $10 is worth it to me being that it is only two months out of the year and there are a lot of giveaways, freebies, it is very well organized, communities are set up, guest posts & discounts from a variety of online shops. It is sort of a scrapping/paper crafting project as well if you are into that. When I did the December 2014 challenge, I kept it all really simple & didn’t use any embellishments, just grabbed a section of my notebook and completed my lists, super easy, and casual.

TheResetGirl (TRG) was doing the March #30lists this year and decided she “loved” it so much she was going to host her own, every month, thus #listersgottalist. So I was like, “well let’s see what it is like”. I didn’t finish April because I could not get on board with all the “planner” aspects of it. It is not called #plannersgottalist it is #LISTERSgottalist. There is a huge fucking difference. First, not every woman identifies with the “planner girl” tag, I sure as fuck don’t. I don’t like labels, and I sure as shit do not want to be identified as the typical/cookie cutter “planner girl” who spends more time decorating than actually planning anything. Second, not everyone in the “community” is a girl, so way to be sexist.

In May, shit blew the hell up and well you could have gone to the facebook page to read my arguments, but when they were called out on lack of common, logical sense, they deleted my post (censorship!). Anyway, you can get all the lists on the website and if you look at them, you will notice a lot of repetition and some things that are total headscratchers.

Exhibits:
April (challenge #1)

14 - Things I need to improve

May (challnege #2)

14 - Things I need to improve

I sure hope TRG wrote down “coming up with better list topics”

April

24 - Things I enjoy doing for others

25 - Random acts of kindness

Kind of the same thing no? I should note that the online planner community really does not understand the concept of Random Acts of Kindness, but that is an essay all its own.

May

7 - What I am currently watching, reading, listening to

June

16 - Currently watching, listening, eating

Because you don’t read in June. This repetition isn’t so much of a “sin” as it is somewhat redundant when there is another weekly challenge #Currently that basically asks these questions, with the exception of eating because life is not all about food people!

May

11 - Best things about being a ____

June

30 What is a great about being a ____

First, that “is a great” is not my typo &/or lack of proof reading, that is all hers. Second, that’s the same fucking topic two months in a row. Third, that fill-in-the-blank is the fifth one in three months. Five times she couldn’t complete the thought.

I should also point out that April’s first topic was “Reasons I love being a planner girl” (sexist & not in sticking with the “list” theme of the project) I pointed out the “list” thing, but not the sexist thing on IG because I am not a total dick.

May’s first topic was “Reasons why I love to list”

Point: Me

There are also two bucket list topics in May & June (one per month). What is with the death drama? I don’t care for the whole idea of “bucket list” to begin with. That shit is fine for Morgan Freeman & James Garner in some old person feeling good about themselves without boning like in Cocoon, but that’s really not for me. I don’t actually want to make a list of shit to do before I die because what if I don’t get anything on it done? Am I going to be made fun of in the afterlife? And two, what if I do everything? Am I supposed to just walk in front of a bus and get on with the afterlife?

Oddly, one of them is about your summer bucket list, which comes in at number 8 on the June list, and summer doesn’t officially start until June 21st, so… And again, does some part of you die at the end of summer? Imagine the person who writes, “survive a heat wave” and then dies because she spent a shitload of money on decorating supplies for her listersgottalist challenge and couldn’t pay the a/c bill. Yes, this decorating shit really is that expensive (you need washi, special notebooks, fucking stickers purchased on Etsy, the most expensive fucking place on the internet, then you need special pens and scissors and markers and tape and glue and then you need to order stamps & inks and ephemera & some of it has to be vintage).

Probably my most favorite part of the whole challenge is the “permission” you are given to do things the way you want to do them. Sigh…

I don’t expect it to last much beyond the summer because well if you have repeated topics three months in, you are not going to sustain this on a monthly year round basis.

And those are just a few of my thoughts on the repetition of #listersgottalist


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.