on a Happy note... in Out with the old, in with the new 2015

  • May 30, 2015, 3:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The day is beautiful. I am drinking a cup of cappuccino and it is delicious. I haven’t drank a cup in months! I’ve been pretty busy and I think for the first time, I’m actually sitting and relaxing!

Things have been so hectic, things were happening after one another. It gotten so overwhelming that I’m often questioning myself.. ” what will happen today?” As you all know that we moved. We live here in this house for a month now. It is quite peaceful as I previous stated. The other day I saw a deer, a HUGE one. and she was really really close to our porch. My dog was in awe, he just sat there watching through the sliding door. It is really interesting. We live in the city, just different side. Our city is considered SNOB compare to other around ours. Our taxes is really high, and the city is so clean and the schools is awesome. I love to raise my kids here. LOVE! our old place is right by the highway near the parks, mall, etc. while I love the location, I didnt love the home. It was getting cramped, and it was filled with memories that I didnt want to remember. It felt dark, and depressing. Our neighbors there was an asshole. I think we are actually happier as a family.

Kids are doing awesome. Lexi changed so much. Even teachers, her friends’ parents, my family, and so many people notice her attitude had improved. Her anger outburst completely gone. She would have like one or two every few months, but that’s OK! It beat 8 to 11 times a day. Lexi and I talked last year and I asked her questions and she gave me honest answers and she said ” I know what dad did was wrong, but I thought it was OK for me to do that to you too. Being Mad was all I know… I didn’t think it was OK to be happy” I asked her what make her happy, she said sports, friends, family and doing things with people she love. So I talked to the school and asked them if there was any sport opening that Lexi could join, ( this was in december and the deadline was already due for spring sports) I was getting concerned. I really want her to have goals of her own to accomplish. I wanted her to make these choices herself, and to achieve these choices that she made.

I signed her up for GOTR and paid it. The first week of practice, She was sweating like crazy. Her face was red and she said she was TIRED! After each practice she seem down, I asked her whats wrong and why she look so sad. She said that Every practice they will hand out a award, for the girls that achieve their goals. Lexi never got any. That made her sad. She thought she worked so Hard. I expressed my concern to Ryan and He decide he will do some kind of fitness fun with Lexi, they went out and played football, and different types of sports. They Ran, bike together, toss ball around and even Wrestling. He was encouraging her to get fit. Eat healthy, and make choices on the type of food/drinks she was putting in her. He didnt stop pushing her, He PUSHED her so hard that I thought she would passed out. She gotten use to that and end up liking what they do, and form a bond. She would wait till he gets home and asked him if they could do something. Some days he would decline and some days he went out after a long day of work and to do something with Lexi. Her self esteem boosted!
The day of 5K. Ryan and I actually thought she would be the last or close to the be the last person to cross the finish line, but we told her… ” AS LONG you kept running, and across the finish line… We are proud of you for crossing it. You will met that goal because you finished it” She said I will be the first one to cross it. we gave her hug and she went to her practice before the 5K ......
The stadium were packed. we had a hard time finding place to park and had to park 5 blocks away. But we made it.... Lexi saw us sitting on the bleacher and waved at me and to make sure we watch her leave. Her school was number 67 and there were over 1,900 girls running. Lexi’s school was almost last to leave the stadium. They had to run 3.5 miles and it was timed. She had two interpreters running alongside her. ( JUST IN CASE SHE END UP PASSING OUT OR HURT HERSELF). these two interpreters is also one of my good friends, and they are very athletic people. about 10 minutes later after the last school left the stadium, the girls were coming in to the finish line, They were exhausted and Lexi running by, looking good. She ran with ONE interpreter. That interpreter was sweating as hell. He told me that she ran by all the girls and kept telling her interpreter to keep up with her, one had to slow down and the other one which across the finish line with her was breathing hard. He said she exceed their expectation and were amazed. Ryan and I looked at eachother and our jaws were open. We are definitely proud of Lexi.

She came home with a lot of awards ( that she desperate want during practice and never got) and medals. She was also on the news and the sites. It was her day, and she made sure of that.

I later got the email from Middle School ( eek) and they wanted Lexi to join their Cross County Team. I am NERVOUS! because, you know she have asthma and middle school is so competitive… I need to make a decision by June 16 because that’s when they will start their practices..... Sigh


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.