Movin' in Everything

  • May 28, 2015, 3:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After 3 years in my current apartment I am moving, not far, just about a mile down the street. But it is a much nicer place with a washer and dryer in the unit, for just a few extra bucks then I am payin here. So I took today and tomorrow off to pack everything and run a few errands that needed to be done. About 3 weeks ago I filled out a change of address form on the post office web site. Filled in the date I was moving (May 29th) and the new address and all that stuff. I got a confirmation in the mail few days later and everything was right (score 1 for the post office). I have got no mail since. None, nada, zip. So anyway I run into this mail carrier today, and I ask her about it. I said I haven’t received any mail for a few weeks. She tells me that she got a notice that I was moving on May 29th. After a long awkward silence, I say “yes, that’s tomorrow”. She is still standing there looking at me with a blank look on her face. So I say “where is my mail?”. She say’s she has it and she holds up a stack of mail. I’m on my way out so I say just drop it in my box and I head out shaking my head. I get back and open up my mailbox expecting to see it jam packed with mail and there is 1 envelope in it. Just 1. I really don’t know what’s wrong with this mail person. When I was getting mail on a semi regular basis every so often about 2-3 times a month my mail would be stuffed down, crumpled up in the bottom of my mailbox. Almost as if she carried around a broom handle and packed my mailbox like it was a civil war era cannon. I always wondered about this, it seems to me that it would take a little extra effort to pack the mail in like that, so it wasn’t laziness, I figured it was just mean spirited-ness. After talking to her, I have concluded it was not mean spirited, just mild retardation. Hopefully the new place will have a different mail carrier, it is a different zip code after all.
I should be packing but I am stalling, I’ve got most of the normal stuff packed, dishes, clothes, sex toys, muffler bracket for a ‘72 Pinto. It’s just mostly random small stuff left that is tough to pack. I’m throwing a lot of stuff away but still I’m amazed at how much junk I have. Anyway I hope tomorrow goes smoothly.


Shattered May 28, 2015

Congrats and best 'o luck to you!

donut May 29, 2015

I get the keys to my house tomorrow! Though I'm not actually moving until June 20th :)

It's Time For Me. May 29, 2015

Hope your move goes well.

Gurly239 May 29, 2015

YAY for moving. I like moving because it gives me an excuse to really go through everything I own with a fine-tooth comb and purge and start fresh! Haven't done it in years though.
YAY for washer and dryer in the suite! Tad jealous.

Deleted user June 01, 2015

I can just picture them trying to load your mailbox like a cannon... lol

Congrats on the move, hope it goes smoothly for you.

Pies on a Carousel June 03, 2015

I'm amused.
The last time I changed my address with the post office, I got a confirmation like everything was normal, and then the mail continued to be delivered to the old address for over a month.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.