Start, Stop, Delete, Repeat in Everything Else

  • May 28, 2015, 4:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I started a post yesterday and then I was interrupted. I really hate when that happens, especially when I am at work. Obviously I wasn’t too invested in the post since I just deleted it.

I have been feeling rather creative the last three days. It is not unusual to feel creative, it is unusual for me to be creative. Especially three days in a row. It started on Monday when I HAD to sit down and make a thank you card. I was already three weeks late with it, I didn’t really want to extend it further. It turned out pretty good since I really didn’t have a plan going into it. Yesterday after work I tackled a birthday card for Gunner. Again, I didn’t have a plan other than the stamp set I planned on using. I used scrap paper for the entire card. Tonight I made an ATC (Artist Trading Card). I have not made one of those in such a long time, and even longer since one that turned out! I had purchased some ATC supplies years ago from an online store and they threw in a little kit. I threw that into my challenge box when I was cleaning out my stash and decided to put it to use. It was a vintage sewing themed kit and the card I made I am so in love with. It is double sided and I honestly don’t know which side I like more! I made my own embossing paste because it is impossible to find locally due to shitty craft stores and I just have not gotten around to purchasing any (baby powder, white acrylic paint, mod podge and some patience is all it took…and a lot of stirring!). I don’t know that I want to give it away.

During the day I have been working on document design. The project I am working on is simple, yet really involved. Plus the printing of it is starting to drive me insane. It has been a challenge figuring out how to print on both sides using statement paper instead of letter. The printer &/or programs do not duplex on statement paper. Sort of wish I had known that before I bought a ream of premium paper & had it trimmed down. In the end it will all be worth it. I am trying to figure out how I want to bind the book when it is done. I can spiral, cinch, arc, loose leaf. Just not sure. I have to do a final proof and then work on some page headers. Those are going to bite ass because I had not planned on them when I did my calculations. I have a good chunk of tomorrow to devote to that project.

I have been reading like crazy lately as well. I just finished one of the best books I have read, Gathering Prey by John Sandford. I love Sandford’s books, both the Prey (Lucas Davenport) series and the Virgil Flowers series (a spinoff of Prey). The ending of this book has me excited for the next, to see where this series goes, where the character goes.

I have decided to quit Nook. I will still use it & the app on my iPad, but I am not going to purchase anymore ebooks through Barnes & Noble nor am I going to order anymore hardcopy books from them. I pre-ordered a signed copy from them and I did not receive a signed copy and they have not responded to my emails either. Then over the weekend I got a notice that my SOD yearly subscription was going from $19.99 (an actual steal) to $29.99. I checked Amazon and a Kindle subscription for the year is still only $19.99 so I just got it from them. I am using my iPad until I decide on what Kindle I want/need (need to access magazine subscriptions). Kindle books are at least he same price if not a touch cheaper than B&N. I honestly think the Nook is being phased out. I know they are in bed with Samsung now. I have had nothing but problems with my HD tablet Nook I purchased. I am just ready to be done with them. I have been buying more hard copy books lately. I love to hit the used book section when they are 5 for $20. Hardback, paperback, they are all only $4.00 during that sale (well only if you but the 5, but that is not hard to do).

And finally, I am gearing up for the second 30 Days of Color challenge. Only a few days left to get all my stuff together. I think that might be my only challenge for June, but I am considering another one as well, I just am waiting for some final information on it before I commit.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.