Half-baked! in Humanity

  • May 25, 2015, 10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How far along? 20 weeks - we’re officially halfway to the finish line

How big is baby? She weighs about 10 1/2 ounces now and measures about 6 1/2 inches from head to bottom or 10 inches from head to heel (about the size of a banana) (!!)

Total weight gain/loss: Up to about 115.8; which is about net / 10 lbs gained

Maternity clothes? Starting to move into some serious maternity gear. Also, shopping for more stuff, which is dumb because I’m only going to be needing it for another 5-6 months. But whatevs.

Sleep: Sleep is OK. It directly seems to correlate with Joaquin’s sleeping and doesn’t really have much to do with pregnancy at this point, so I think sleep is as good as it’s going to get right now, so I’ll try to enjoy it.

Best moment this week: Getting a 2-day break in Palm Desert. Sat in the sun, lounged in the pool, ate yummy foods and relaxed by NOT checking my phone for work emails or actually doing any work.

We also brought Joaquin to our baby check-in appt this week, which was pretty cute!

Worst moment this week: I can’t think of anything too prominent; Joaquin was a bit of a disaster the first day we were in the desert, but he was over-tired and once he got some sleep he was awesome.

Movement: I feel her ALL THE TIME now; it’s so awesome. I also found out that my placenta is toward the back of my uterus, which means I will likely feel her a LOT more than I felt Joaquin.

Food Cravings: Juicy fruits.

Food Aversions: None!

Gender: GIRL!

Labor Signs: No!!

Pregnancy Symptoms: More weight gain, more sciatica when I walk a lot, but running still feels pretty good. Still feeling good in general.

Belly Button in or out? In....for the moment.

What I miss: Really, really craving sushi

What I am looking forward to: July, when I ‘m done traveling ;0

Upcoming appointments/events:
- Massage next weekend
- LOTS of travel in the next 4-5 weeks (San Jose, San Francisco, Denver)
- Major ultrasound ~ June 16th
- Birthday parties EVERY weekend in June (Jasper, Curtis, Kenzie, Micah)

Milestones (BabyCenter):
She’s swallowing more these days, which is good practice for her digestive system. She’s also producing meconium, a black, sticky by-product of digestion. This gooey substance will accumulate in her bowels, and you’ll see it in her first soiled diaper (some babies pass meconium in the womb or during delivery).

The top of your uterus is about level with your belly button, and you’ve likely gained around 10 pounds. Expect to gain another pound or so each week from now on. (If you started your pregnancy underweight, you may need to gain a bit more; if you were overweight, perhaps a bit less.) Make sure you’re getting enough iron, a mineral that’s used primarily to make hemoglobin (the part of your red blood cells that carries oxygen).

Current favorite GIRL names: Aurion Rose. <3


MaggieTheCat May 25, 2015

So exciting!!

TrippyNina May 25, 2015

Belly pic?

rubix cube TrippyNina ⋅ May 26, 2015

yes! sometime this week when I can get the angle / lighting / filters just right so I can provide the illusion that I'm not as big as I actually am. Heh.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.