beauty in Book of Lies.....

  • May 20, 2015, 10:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What is beauty? How do we define what is beautiful and what may be less. I believe there is some consensus.... sunsets… lovely blue skies… maybe a waterfall casting a rainbow in the mist.

waterfalls photo: Waterfalls earth14.jpg
Around here probably one of the greatest things to see is the fall colors. a rainbow of sorts that actually comes from mother earth. Amazing to think the beauty that starts from nothing more than a tiny seed. A few decades later we have a grand living creature of flora cleansing our air and living and dying each year in a blaze of orange and yellows....
fall colors photo: Fall colors Niagara Falls Canada fallcolorsinniagara.jpg
But what of the beauty defined in being human. Not so simple as looking through your eyes and determining beauty in its purest state. Is it the ravishing slender or six packed of the catwalk or the raven haired or the Irish moors. What of the inner essence that can only be judged though our thoughts and feelings, the words we hear. A picture can paint a thousand words but I am unsure if it can truly replace them.
beautiful goth photo: Goth Girlie goth-girl-1.jpg


Waiting For Sunrise May 20, 2015

When you think about it, that consensus on the beauty of nature is a strange thing.... perceived beauty in humans is subjective to personal preference and social constructs... and yet, the innate pull of a perfect sunset or a forest painted in autumnal colours is the same in all of us...

To me, what is inside a person changes the appearance of the outside... getting to know someone, finding them interesting or challenging or fun, influences the way I view their physical form..

invisible ink Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 20, 2015

I could not agree more. the more engaging a person is the lovelier they will seem regardless of "social norms" usually defined by media...among other things...

WomanOfSteele Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ May 21, 2015

This is so true. First impressions of the physical appearance are not always accurate to what is inside the person. To me, THAT is what will determine how I see them.

Mr. Mofo May 20, 2015

I read this entry, and what Waiting For Sunrise has commented. Can I just say I reallyreallyREALLY like boobs.

invisible ink Mr. Mofo ⋅ May 20, 2015

Say what you wish.... that is why we are all here....

Skikkles911 May 20, 2015

I think that's the beauty of beauty, to everyone it's different. There's so much to be perceived as beautiful. I like trekking around and trying to see that in every little corner I can find.

invisible ink Skikkles911 ⋅ May 20, 2015

the beauty of beauty.... I like it...

Tea and Sympathy May 20, 2015

I cannot define beauty. It isn't a physical thing for me. It's a feeling in my chest. It's hard to explain. I've been sitting here for 10 minutes trying to put it into words that make sense. But all I can come up with is beauty is a feeling...Something is beautiful if it invokes feeling in me...

Small Town Girl May 22, 2015

Id agree that beauty is in the eye of the beholder as well.

Loki May 24, 2015

  • beauty is in the eye of the beholder. We all see beauty differently <3
colojojo May 25, 2015

Fall is my favorite time of year. I get a crazy happiness when I can witness such beauty, although it is a beauty of death.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.