Fraught with Efficiency I am! in A New Beginning

  • May 19, 2015, 6:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am just so pleased with this new Self I am, who has emerged from the year or so of depression, like a butterfly emerging from its cocoon, so much better a creature than when I went in there! :o) !! It’s true that ya really do have to plunge to the depths sometimes, to be able to look at things in the world with new eyes. To be honest, I have never been much on housework. I’ve certainly never thought myself a good housekeeper, but most of the time I’ve really done well enough. “Well enough” that I wasn’t embarrassed to invite people into my house anyway! But I’m just really enjoying the newness of this almost-delight that I’ve been taking in the efficiency with which I’ve been doing things around here lately! Simply to do the few supper dishes every evening! To put leftovers away IN PLASTIC CONTAINERS instead of in the pans I cooked them in, just so I can put off washing those pans! To pick whatever laundry there is, up off the bedroom floor and bring it out to the laundry room EVERY DAY....twice a day usually.... morning and afternoon or evening. WOW, is this me?? ;o) !! I will never be like my co-worker Connie, who is a clean-freak, but I am LOTS better than I ever was! Next thing ya know I might be dusting every week. If I ever do that, I reckon I might even invite Connie into my house!

I am walking Guinness again, too. I said I was not going to, the second time in a week he busted loose from me to chase a rabbit. But it put me down in the dumps, not being able to walk him. Joe said that the safest time for me to walk him is in the heat of the day, because there is far less chance of a rabbit or any other animal to be hopping around on our paths then. So I’ve been taking him shortly after I get home from work. It’s hawt, but it doesn’t hurt either of us, and he doesn’t have to wait til Joe gets home to do his poop. He rarely poops when he’s just on his chain out in the yard; I think he doesn’t like to. It IS nice not having dog poop in the yard! So we have to give him several opportunities a day to do it elsewhere whenever possible!

Speaking of Guinness, he has an outing on Thursday. Joe is going to drop him off at the kennel/groomer’s early, and pick him up on his way home from work. Joe doesn’t want the hassle of bathing him and trimming his toenails, but we do want that to be done, and it doesn’t cost that much.

Skipping from topic to topic here....Sophia, our manager, gave us our annual evaluations yesterday at work. I had been thinking I’d probably not get as good an evaluation as usual, because I really have used a lot of sick days this year and also, it seems like I’ve been at odds with Lori, my co-worker a lot. There are eight things on the evaluation, and we get rated one to four (with four being the highest) on each of them. Normally I get all 4’s and she writes things like “Nicky misses very little time” and “Nicky is a team player and gets along well with everyone.” I was delighted to see that she gave me all 4’s again! :o) I’m sure that contributed to me enjoying work so much today....even though it was a pretty hard and VERY hawt day!

I’m going to post this now, and wish you all a lovely evening and tomorrow!

hugs and blessings,
Nicky


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm May 19, 2015

good work reviews make for a good day. i can't walk chloe. she's way too strong for me. she's already pulled me down to the ground 3 times and gotten away from me. i'm not gonna risk getting hurt by trying to walk her. she's just too strong. if they want to walk her, they certainly can. but, i'm not gonna. take care,

Deleted user May 19, 2015

I've learned how to clip the dog's toenails and can do it in about 2 minutes start to finish because she lays still for me once I show her the clippers. When you look underneath the nail you can see the quick, which of course doesn't get cut as it is still live tissue. Once I understood that, it was simple. However, bathing the dog ... well I'll take her down to the river and let her get wet wading in it. She won't swim. A few times on the hottest summer days I'll gently hose her down in the back yard.

Glad your evaluation went better than expected. You underestimate yourself!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.